spongebob

Dec 15, 2020
I have been using ESXI for 5 years now on a 2011 mac mini with no issues. The setup is:

- Dual NIC (one on board, one thunderbolt adapter)
- One NIC is dedicated to WAN
- The other NIC goes to a managed switch in a trunk port that has 3 VLANS + untagged for LAN
- The switch connects to a unifi AP that supports VLANs and has multiple SSIDs

Since I wanted to upgrade the mac mini to build a NAS (needed those SATA connectors) and the mini was getting old, I decided to build a custom "pseudo low power" PC with a new AMD Ryzen 3, 32G ram and other goodies. I also decided to migrate away from ESXI into Proxmox.

The problem started when I tried to migrate Pfsense to Proxmox. I started by reading all the recommendations and created a linux bridge with VLAN aware enabled. Then I created a single network adapter on the VM (I had a single nic) in VirtIO mode. The NIC had no VLAN selected as I wanted to pass them tagged to Pfsense. The other slight config change was that WAN was now a new VLAN instead of a different NIC. I did restore the same working configuration (minus the interface remap) into the box and the first thing I observed was that inter VLAN routing was not working. Fired up wireshark and I was seeing that the SYN packets were sent and received on the other end, the SYN-ACK was sent back but the other end was simply ignoring it. Digging a bit more I did see some strange 6 extra bytes at the end of the frame called VSS-Monitoring trailer.

SYN-ACK VSS-Monitoring.png

I started reading about it, and it seems that people always got rid of it by swapping a NIC. Since this was a virtual NIC I decided to try the intel E1000. After swapping that, the problem went away and I had a working setup.