Store VM application data locally vs in a NAS

nununo

Jul 24, 2019
Hello,

I'm new to Proxmox and am still confused on where to store each VM's application data.

I've read a lot of threads here but most of them focus on storing the actual VM files while I'm interested in where to store each application's specific data.

Example of the data I want to store:
  • DokuWiki's files
  • GitLab's content
  • NextCloud files
I run Proxmox on an Intel NUC with 1Tb SSD and also have a Synology NAS with 6Tb in RAID.

The options currently on my mind:

1. Create one shared folder per VM in Synology, mount it via NFS and configure the application to store its data in that mounted folder:
- All application data will be stored in Synology and automatically backed up when I backup Synology data;
- I will also have an NFS shared folder mounted at Proxomox host which I'll use for VM backup.

2. Have all application data stored locally:
- Each VM's installation is much simpler because I can use out-of-the-box Turnkey LXC unprivileged containers with their default configuration
- I will have to configure each application to somehow backup its data to a Synology backups shared folder
- I will still have an NFS shared folder mounted at Proxomox host which I'll use for VM backup.
- This is ok for most applications but for NextCloud... I probably would have to add extra local storage to my Proxmox server
- Since my Proxmox server has just one SSD drive... I won't be taking advantage of my NAS's RAID to protect my data (except for the VM backups of course)

I've been experimenting with the 1st approach but I'm not sure this is the right way to do it.
Also, I was told that I should consider using iSCSI but I don't know how that would fit the picture here.

Any suggestions, advice and links to enlighten me on this are welcome.

Thanks in advance,
Nuno