Snapshots, templates, clones, backups: how do they all compare?

johnnyutahh

Sep 19, 2020
PVE newbie here.

1. How does the following wiki page apply to LXC Containers?
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/VM_Templates_and_Clones

2. There's no mention of "snapshots" in the above wiki page, even though PVE 6.2-11 seems to feature snapshot feature prominently over "template." Is this above wiki page still pertinent?

3. Is there some place where I can read about snapshots/templates/backups/clones, which things are pertinent and recommended today and which things/concepts are obsolete, etc?

4. Are there clearly-canonical/authoritative PVE docs (including for these concepts) in one place, docs that are kept current with currently software revision(s)? My initial experience is that the PVE docs are a tad bit chaotic. Many different sources, many references to obsolete points, etc. man pages might be current, but I have yet to find a man page which presents conceptual things (like the above) well from a "summarized, top-down" perspective.

(Point #4 might later deserve a separate post.)

2.) PVE has no own snapshotting but you can use a filesystem with snapshotting capabilities (zfs, qcow2 and lvm) for snapshotting. The PVE GUI has no automatic snapshotting build in but there are thirdparty scripts available like cv4pve to do that.
I think a mix of snapshots and backups is a good idea.

Look here the see which filesystem supports snapshots: https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/pve-admin-guide.html#_storage_types
Look here for Backups: https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/pve-admin-guide.html#chapter_vzdump

2.) PVE has no own snapshotting...

PVE has no snapshot capability "built in," is this what I'm reading from @Dunuin 's note?

If so, how does one explain the following?

Code:
$ qm snapshot 199 mytestsnapshot1
Qemu Guest Agent is not running - VM 199 qmp command 'guest-ping' failed - got timeout
  Logical volume "snap_vm-199-disk-1_mytestsnapshot1" created.
$
$ qm listsnapshot 199