NoctOs

Sep 6, 2017
Hi! So I'm pretty new to this and I'm a bit confused about how to make Proxmox belong to a VLAN.

I have a VM running VyOS with two virtual interfaces tagged with VLAN 10(LAN) and VLAN 99(WAN) and that works just fine and dandy but I can't access the GUI to Proxmox or SSH into it since Proxmox itself isn't tagged as a VLAN(should be tagged as 10).

I've looked around a bit and tried a few methods I've found but I can't seem to make it work. For example I tried the config below in /etc/network/interfaces but it doesn't seem to do anything. I only have one physical NIC btw and right now it's on a trunked port on my switch.

Code:
# network interface settings

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet manual

auto bond0
iface bond0 inet manual
        slaves eth0
        bond_miimon 100
        bond_mode 4

auto bond0.10
iface bond0.10 inet manual
        vlan-raw-device bond0

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address  10.2.1.30
        netmask  255.255.252.0
        gateway  10.2.0.1
        bridge_ports bond0.10
        bridge_stp off
        bridge_fd 0
        bridge_vlan_aware yes

Is there anyone here who can explain how I should do this? I'm pretty new to both Proxmox and Linux.

Okay so I can see now that my switch has Proxmox MAC address tagged as 10, 99 and 1(native vlan) for some reason which I think is weird since I've only tried to configure vlan 10. I can also see that I have interfaces for it, in proxmox I have eth0.10, eth0.99, vmbr0v10 and vmbr0v99 which I guess was created when i made two virtual interfaces for my VM but they're all tagged with the MAC address for Proxmox and not for the VM.

The native vlan should be the vmbr0 interface I suppose but I can't reach Proxmox even if I connect a PC to another port on the native vlan on my switch, weird...

I don't have an IP configured for eth0.10 or vmbr0v10 maybe that's needed or does Proxmox take care of that it self? I'm probably stupid and missing something here.