Proxmox VE 5.0 beta1 released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Mar 22, 2017.

  1. ivensiya

    ivensiya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    VM not start if network rate limit (like 12.5).
    RTNETLINK answers: Invalid argument
    We have an error talking to the kernel
    command '/sbin/tc filter add dev tap301i0 parent ffff: prio 50 basic police rate 13107200bps burst 1048576b mtu 64kb drop flowid :1' failed: exit code 2

    PVE 5.0.6 4.10.5-1
     
  2. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    could you open a bug report at bugzilla.proxmox.com for easier tracking? thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. McKajVah

    McKajVah New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can see that you did a update on the beta today. Great work!!

    Do you have a list of fixes/bugs that has been ironed out with this release?
     
  4. TheXO

    TheXO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't start any vms with net rate limiting on after i just updated.
    Can't even turn rate limiting off, can't use 'qm' based commands, giving
    Segmentation fault.
    Basically proxmox is non functional

    Jesus...
     
  5. ivensiya

    ivensiya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1351
     
  6. sanjibukai

    sanjibukai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I will probably ask a very noob question..
    If I go with this 5.0 beta 1, how the upgrade will happen when the stable 5.0 release will be issued?
    Will I need to reinstall, or will it be possible to just run an apt-get upgrade?

    In other words, starting with this beta, will I end up after the stable release will be released to the same state as if I installed directly the stable release?

    Thank you very much..
     
  7. David Hooton

    David Hooton New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I've just run an upgrade from 4.4 to 5.0-6/669657df using the apt dist-upgrade method.

    Everything seems to have run properly however LXC containers won't come up, I am getting a "cpu id '16' is out of range" error in the front end and am seeing the following in /var/log/pve/tasks/active for every LXC container I try to start:

    Code:
    UPID:bruce:00001E25:0001D077:58ED81E3:vzstart:100:root@pam: 1 58ED81E3 cpu id '16' is out of range
    UPID:bruce:000017BC:0000ED3A:58ED7F9D:vzstart:100:root@pam: 1 58ED7F9D cpu id '16' is out of range
    UPID:bruce:00001658:00009BC9:58ED7ECD:vzstart:100:root@pam: 1 58ED7ECD cpu id '16' is out of range
    Code:
    root@bruce:~# pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 5.0-5 (running kernel: 4.10.5-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.0-6 (running version: 5.0-6/669657df)
    pve-kernel-4.4.40-1-pve: 4.4.40-82
    pve-kernel-4.4.35-2-pve: 4.4.35-79
    pve-kernel-4.10.5-1-pve: 4.10.5-5
    pve-kernel-4.4.19-1-pve: 4.4.19-66
    pve-kernel-4.4.49-1-pve: 4.4.49-86
    pve-kernel-4.4.35-1-pve: 4.4.35-77
    pve-kernel-4.4.21-1-pve: 4.4.21-71
    pve-kernel-4.4.44-1-pve: 4.4.44-84
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-1
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve1
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve2
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    pve-cluster: 5.0-4
    qemu-server: 5.0-2
    pve-firmware: 2.0-2
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-7
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-1
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-3
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-3
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    vncterm: 1.4-1
    pve-docs: 5.0-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.9.0-1~rc3
    pve-container: 2.0-6
    pve-firewall: 3.0-1
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-1
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-2
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    lxc-pve: 2.0.7-500
    lxcfs: 2.0.6-pve500
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    novnc-pve: 0.5-9
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    zfsutils-linux: 0.6.5.9-pve16~bpo90
    openvswitch-switch: 2.7.0-2
    root@bruce:~#
    I am also getting the following errors in /var/log/syslog

    Code:
    Apr 12 12:58:36 bruce pvestatd[4676]: lxc cpuset rebalance error: cpu id '16' is out of range
    Apr 12 12:58:46 bruce pvestatd[4676]: lxc cpuset rebalance error: cpu id '16' is out of range
    Apr 12 12:58:56 bruce pvestatd[4676]: lxc cpuset rebalance error: cpu id '16' is out of range
    Apr 12 12:59:06 bruce pvestatd[4676]: lxc cpuset rebalance error: cpu id '16' is out of range
    Apr 12 12:59:17 bruce pvestatd[4676]: lxc cpuset rebalance error: cpu id '16' is out of range
    
    CPU ID 16 seems to exist as well

    Code:
    root@bruce:/etc# cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep processor
    processor : 0
    processor : 1
    processor : 4
    processor : 6
    processor : 8
    processor : 10
    processor : 12
    processor : 14
    processor : 16
    processor : 18
    processor : 20
    processor : 22
    processor : 24
    processor : 26
    processor : 28
    processor : 30
    root@bruce:/etc#
     
    #67 David Hooton, Apr 12, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2017
  8. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    yes, the Beta will transform into the stable release over time, and regular upgrades mean you end up with the stable release once it has been released.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    could you open a new thread for this issue, and include "pct config 100" and "pct cpusets" output? thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    you can check out the changelogs of the individual packages, but the main points are:
    • upgrade kernel to 4.10.5
    • upgrade qemu to 2.9-rc3
    • fix VMA bug (backup/restore)
    • fix start on boot bug
    • fix VM-internal reboot bug
    • various smaller fixes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Alan Robertson

    Alan Robertson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You appear to have inherited a bug from the bonding driver. I'm trying to configure an MTU of 9000. Here's the kernel log:

    Apr 11 19:05:05 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.748620] i40e 0000:01:00.0 eno1: changing MTU from 1500 to 9000
    Apr 11 19:05:05 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.754990] i40e 0000:01:00.0 eno1: NIC Link is Up 10 Gbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: None
    Apr 11 19:05:05 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.827903] i40e 0000:01:00.1 eno2: changing MTU from 1500 to 9000
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.834179] i40e 0000:01:00.1 eno2: NIC Link is Up 10 Gbps Full Duplex, Flow Control: None
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.899423] Ethernet Channel Bonding Driver: v3.7.1 (April 27, 2011)
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.902213] bond0: Setting xmit hash policy to layer3+4 (1)
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.902260] bond0: Setting MII monitoring interval to 100
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.911643] bond0: Adding slave eno1
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.911687] i40e 0000:01:00.0 eno1: changing MTU from 9000 to 1500
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.911700] i40e 0000:01:00.0 eno1: already using mac address 24:6e:96:00:dd:80
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.916891] bond0: Enslaving eno1 as a backup interface with an up link
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.924796] bond0: Adding slave eno2
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.924816] i40e 0000:01:00.1 eno2: changing MTU from 9000 to 1500
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.924829] i40e 0000:01:00.1 eno2: set new mac address 24:6e:96:00:dd:80
    Apr 11 19:05:06 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 6.935510] bond0: Enslaving eno2 as a backup interface with an up link

    After the boot completes, all of the interface MTUs are throttled down to 1500, as a result of the bonding bug. When attempting to manually set MTU, I see the following in the log:

    Apr 11 19:13:28 kr20s3101 kernel: [ 508.793746] bond0: Invalid MTU 9000 requested, hw max 1500

    Searching for that error lead me to this post on:

    http s:// bugzilla.kernel. org/show_bug .cgi?id= 194763 (New User - can't post unbroken link - remove spaces)

    Seems that the fix has been queued for 4.10-stable. I don't know if that's available yet, but you'll want to get this incorporated sooner than later. I imagine it affects a large number of users.
     
  12. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    yes, it is on our radar (also affects some of the intel and IB NICs, and used to affect OVS as well): https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1343
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Alan Robertson likes this.
  13. Antan

    Antan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any plan to fix the issue when the server has multiple NICs? Even when it gets the ip address from the gateway DHCP server, after the installation is completed it cannot ping the gateway. In my case I can use only eno3.
     
    #73 Antan, Apr 13, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2017
  14. tinalloyd

    tinalloyd New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for sharing information.
     
  15. sanjibukai

    sanjibukai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your quick reply...
    Ok, I'll go with the 5.0 beta..
    Do the sources files (for apt) need to be changed to a stable repo?
    I also see that some people wrote about a "dist-upgrade"?
    In my case, will it be necessary to run a dist-uppgrade, or regular apt-get upgrade will it be enough?

    Thank you again...
    And thanks for the great job...
     
  16. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    158
    Hi,
    yes - of course.
    proxmox is an rolling release - use allways dist-upgrade!!

    Udo
     
  17. Sensate

    Sensate New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue. I got it working on my Samsung 960 (NVME) after a few installation tries fiddling with bios settings. After that sucessfull installation it now gives the same error message again when i try to reinstall no matter if i try a Sata SSD or my Samsung 960. I tried to format the harddrive for a super clean reinstall but nothing helps.

    The error message is:

    Warning: Failed to connect lvemetad. Falling back to device scanning method.
    Can't open /dev/nvme0n1p3 exclusively. Mounted filesystem?
     
  18. Rubicon

    Rubicon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    Virtual Environment 4.3-12/6894c9d9

    Registered repository version 5


    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of proxmox-ve:
    proxmox-ve depends on pve-manager; however:
    Package pve-manager is not configured yet.

    dpkg: error processing package proxmox-ve (--configure):
    dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    pve-firewall
    pve-manager
    proxmox-ve
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    Failed to perform requested operation on package. Trying to recover:
    Setting up pve-firewall (3.0-1) ...
    Job for pve-firewall.service failed. See 'systemctl status pve-firewall.service' and 'journalctl -xn' for
    dpkg: error processing package pve-firewall (--configure):
    subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of pve-manager:
    pve-manager depends on pve-firewall; however:
    Package pve-firewall is not configured yet.

    dpkg: error processing package pve-manager (--configure):
    dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of proxmox-ve:
    proxmox-ve depends on pve-manager; however:
    Package pve-manager is not configured yet.

    dpkg: error processing package proxmox-ve (--configure):
    dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    pve-firewall
    pve-manager
    proxmox-ve

    Current status: 20 updates [-1].
     
  19. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    496
    please open a new thread and include the commands you ran and the system log from around the update
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. dik23

    dik23 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will 5.x retain the ability to convert openvz containers to lxc?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice