Proxmox VE 5.0 beta1 released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Mar 22, 2017.

  1. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everybody,
    I have installed Proxmox 5.0 on to several servers via installing Debian 9 first. And on all servers the Network Traffic graphs for nodes itself (not guests) do not work. Could you check and confirm it? Or it is probably only my issue?
     
  2. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,282
    Likes Received:
    506
    thanks for the pointer - seems like pvestatd is not handling enoX devices.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. camouflageX

    camouflageX New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, we are currently testing Proxmox VE 5.0 Beta 1 and I am getting these message almost every second when I run "ceph -w":
    2017-05-22 15:21:14.184174 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224786: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2
    2017-05-22 15:21:15.186787 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224787: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2
    2017-05-22 15:21:16.195813 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224788: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2
    2017-05-22 15:21:19.184151 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224789: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2
    2017-05-22 15:21:20.186720 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224790: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2
    2017-05-22 15:21:21.195066 mon.0 [INF] mgrmap e224791: active: 0 standbys: 1, 2


    Unfortunately, I could not find any information about it on the Internet. Health is OK. What does it mean?
     
  4. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not only enoX. The interfaces could have different names now.

    One more bug. With Russian locale there are perl wide symbol or something similar to it error during move disk or migration process in GUI. I think it is because of name of month in the beginning of each line (date).
     
  5. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more possible issue:

    I use one VM with ubuntu and nginx as unicast iptv cache server. It works really well on Proxmox 4.4-5/c43015a5 however I tried to move it to Proxmox 5.0-10/0d270679 and have unpredictable net frozen issue. I can do link down / link up in Proxmox GUI on net interface of this VM and it continue to work. The traf is about 1 Gb out and 350 Mb in. No even one error in all logs (VM and host). Net and HDD is virtio.
     
  6. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,282
    Likes Received:
    506
    Ceph >= Kraken has a new service daemon called mgr (short for "manager"). It is intended to replace the old calamari dashboard, but allow loading arbitrary python "modules" to provide additional custom functionality. The current state in Luminous is rather sad - it gets started out of the box, but does not really work. The next iteration of our Ceph packages will probably no longer enable it out of the box, until further improvements have happened.

    The log messages just indicate that you have three mgr instances running (one per monitor), with mgr.0 being the currently active one.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    camouflageX likes this.
  7. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,282
    Likes Received:
    506
    yes - PVE (5) supports ethX, enXYZ, and ibX (as physical interfaces). the statistic data collection is missing the latter two.

    could you file a bug for this? please include the error messages, logs, and "pveversion -v". thanks.[/QUOTE]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. BloodyIron

    BloodyIron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is what I'm asking too much? :(


     
  9. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I migrate a VM:


    Stop
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:57 starting migration of VM 103 to node 'pve3' (91.219.164.4)
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:57 copying disk images
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:57 starting VM 103 on remote node 'pve3'
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:58 start failed: command '/usr/bin/kvm -id 103 -chardev 'socket,id=qmp,path=/var/run/qemu-server/103.qmp,server,nowait' -mon 'chardev=qmp,mode=control' -pidfile /var/run/qemu-server/103.pid -daemonize -smbios 'type=1,uuid=f02ea4a1-64aa-4f82-9d0e-480a8eb3d114' -name ititv -smp '2,sockets=1,cores=2,maxcpus=2' -nodefaults -boot 'menu=on,strict=on,reboot-timeout=1000,splash=/usr/share/qemu-server/bootsplash.jpg' -vga cirrus -vnc unix:/var/run/qemu-server/103.vnc,x509,password -cpu kvm64,+lahf_lm,+sep,+kvm_pv_unhalt,+kvm_pv_eoi,enforce -m 8192 -k en-us -device 'pci-bridge,id=pci.1,chassis_nr=1,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1e' -device 'pci-bridge,id=pci.2,chassis_nr=2,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1f' -device 'piix3-usb-uhci,id=uhci,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1.0x2' -device 'usb-tablet,id=tablet,bus=uhci.0,port=1' -iscsi 'initiator-name=iqn.1993-08.org.debian:01:92a0f07a8b93' -drive 'if=none,id=drive-ide2,media=cdrom,aio=threads' -device 'ide-cd,bus=ide.1,unit=0,drive=drive-ide2,id=ide2,bootindex=200' -drive 'file=/mnt/pve/border-1T/images/103/vm-103-disk-1.qcow2,if=none,id=drive-virtio0,format=qcow2,cache=none,aio=native,detect-zeroes=on' -device 'virtio-blk-pci,drive=drive-virtio0,id=virtio0,bus=pci.0,addr=0xa,bootindex=100' -netdev 'type=tap,id=net0,ifname=tap103i0,script=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge,downscript=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridgedown,vhost=on' -device 'virtio-net-pci,mac=5A:48:C2:1D:07:F1,netdev=net0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x12,id=net0,bootindex=300' -machine 'type=pc-i440fx-2.9' -incoming unix:/run/qemu-server/103.migrate -S' failed: exit code 1
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:58 ERROR: online migrate failure - command '/usr/bin/ssh -o 'BatchMode=yes' root@91.219.164.4 qm start 103 --skiplock --migratedfrom pve2 --migration_type secure --stateuri unix --machine pc-i440fx-2.9' failed: exit code 255
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:58 aborting phase 2 - cleanup resources
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:58 migrate_cancel
    Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    май 24 01:12:59 ERROR: migration finished with problems (duration 00:00:03)
    TASK ERROR: migration problems





    pveversion -v
    proxmox-ve: 5.0-7 (running kernel: 4.10.8-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.0-10 (running version: 5.0-10/0d270679)
    pve-kernel-4.10.8-1-pve: 4.10.8-7
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-4
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve2
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve2
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    pve-cluster: 5.0-7
    qemu-server: 5.0-4
    pve-firmware: 2.0-2
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-12
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-1
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-4
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-3
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    vncterm: 1.4-1
    pve-docs: 5.0-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.9.0-1
    pve-container: 2.0-6
    pve-firewall: 3.0-1
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-1
    ksm-control-daemon: not correctly installed
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    lxc-pve: 2.0.8-1
    lxcfs: 2.0.7-pve1
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    novnc-pve: 0.5-9
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    openvswitch-switch: 2.7.0-2




    Migration works even with this error.


    However I am worried much more about last bug. Because of this freeze I can not migrate completely to Proxmox 5.0. What can it be? And how can I catch it without errors in logs?
     
  10. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    328
    there should be a corresponding start task on the target node with a more specific error, can you post this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure what you are talking about? This id the output of migration node task.
    Could you be more specific?
     
  12. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    328
    on the target node (where you wanted to migrate), there should also be a "start" task for this migration. there should be more details on why it did not work
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh. I see.
    I did not explain well.
    The migration itsrlf works well. There is only a error message: Wide character in print at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/AbstractMigrate.pm line 37.
    I believe it comes because of date in this log comes from system not on English.

    So, it is just small issue about some rubbish in the logs.

    About the second problem - it seems that something wrong with virtio net as with e1000 it works fine so far but it is still under test.
     
  14. acounts@rawthink.com

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When will
    PVE-zsync-gui be introduced?

    I still don't see any sign of it in BETA2.

    Thank you!
     
  15. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,545
    Likes Received:
    405
    If you are interested in the progress, follow our pve-devel mailing list.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. hawk128

    hawk128 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I still have real problems with virtio net in Proxmox 5.0 under load.

    I tried to use E1000 - it works without this problem but it takes much more CPU as the traf is about 1 - 1.2 Gbit / sec.

    When I use virtio - it stops to transferring data occasionally, usually under almost full load.
    I use script which disconnects and connects again the net on this VM and it helps...

    This VM with virtio worked well on Proxmox 4.
    I also tried it on 3 different servers (all of them in one cluster now.).

    I also tried to use Linux bond and openvswitch one. The same result...

    Do you have any ideas?

    Yury.

    proxmox-ve: 5.0-9 (running kernel: 4.10.11-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 5.0-10 (running version: 5.0-10/0d270679)
    pve-kernel-4.10.11-1-pve: 4.10.11-9
    libpve-http-server-perl: 2.0-4
    lvm2: 2.02.168-pve2
    corosync: 2.4.2-pve2
    libqb0: 1.0.1-1
    pve-cluster: 5.0-7
    qemu-server: 5.0-4
    pve-firmware: 2.0-2
    libpve-common-perl: 5.0-12
    libpve-guest-common-perl: 2.0-1
    libpve-access-control: 5.0-4
    libpve-storage-perl: 5.0-3
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.8-3
    vncterm: 1.4-1
    pve-docs: 5.0-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.9.0-1
    pve-container: 2.0-6
    pve-firewall: 3.0-1
    pve-ha-manager: 2.0-1
    ksm-control-daemon: not correctly installed
    glusterfs-client: 3.8.8-1
    lxc-pve: 2.0.8-1
    lxcfs: 2.0.7-pve1
    criu: 2.11.1-1~bpo90
    novnc-pve: 0.5-9
    smartmontools: 6.5+svn4324-1
    openvswitch-switch: 2.7.0-2
     
  17. Sirius

    Sirius New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    what if after reboot there is no network anymore?
    impossible to bring up vmbr0. eth0 & 1 yes but not vmbr0...
     
  18. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    315
    The beta phase is over please update to stable and if the problem still exist open a new thread.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice