Proxmox VE 5.0 beta1 released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Mar 22, 2017.

  1. ivensiya

    ivensiya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Server 2016 in nested virtualization mode, after install Hyper-V not starting. Hypervisor Error on blue screen. But the server 2008r2 work fine. 2012 not tested.
    Auto start & bulk actions same not working with this error
    Use of uninitialized value $type in string eq at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/API2/Nodes.pm line 1431.
    Use of uninitialized value $type in string eq at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/API2/Nodes.pm line 1437.
    Use of uninitialized value $type in concatenation (.) or string at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/API2/Nodes.pm line 1444.
    unknown VM type
     
  2. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    498
    could you post the complete error message please? the image is cut off.. feel free to open a new thread.. if you boot in debug mode, you should be able to retrieve the whole installer log from /tmp/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    498
    we will probably move to 2.9 for 5.x - but no concrete estimate yet.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    498
    already reported, and fixed in git.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. EuroDomenii

    EuroDomenii Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
  6. Alibek

    Alibek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Is Proxmox VE 5.x allow increase RAM online for kvm vms?
     
  7. dison4linux

    dison4linux New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did a clean install of 5.0-beta1 with ZFS, and built a few test containers. So far, so good. Keep up the good work!
     
  8. Alessandro 123

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    19
    Seriously ? Last time i've checked, BTRFS was far from being stable even for home users.

    Much more interesting adding support for mdadm, on small nodes, could be useful and it's absolutely stable.
     
    greydjin likes this.
  9. EuroDomenii

    EuroDomenii Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
    Googling “btrfs performance” or stability returns a lot of “false friend” results, due to obsolete benchmarks on kernel 2.x, 3.x . Things has changed a lot with the newest kernels 4.x.

    The best thing is to try it yourself . Proxmox includes a recent version of btrfs-progs 4.6.1-1~bpo8+1.

    I use it for 2 month in Proxmox 4.4, as directory storage , following tutorial https://www.internalfx.com/how-to-use-a-btrfs-raid-on-your-proxmox-server/.

    So far no stability issues and performances are close to ZFS. It has successfully passed some hardcore 24h+ each mprime, fio, sysbench and phoronix test suite on Proxmox BTRFS. I should share them when I have more spare time.

    Regarding stability, there are 2 relevant enterprise examples
    1. Facebook
    https://www.linux.com/news/learn/in...ok-uses-linux-and-btrfs-interview-chris-mason

    2. SUSE Linux Enterprise BTRFS default filesystem

    Kudos to the guys at SuSE, because for sure the best way to push its adoption is to place a statement like this “we are a profit company, not a group of Linux geeks, and we trust this filesystem to the point that it’s going to become our default one”. http://www.virtualtothecore.com/en/2016-btrfs-really-next-filesystem/
     
    #29 EuroDomenii, Mar 27, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
    gkovacs likes this.
  10. Alessandro 123

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    19
    Most of the time, Internet is saying tons of stupid things.
    The best place to know if BTRFS is stable, is by looking at the official BTRFS status page: https://btrfs.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Status

    There you can see that:

    1) scrub + raid5/6 are unstable
    2) defrag is not OK
    3) compression is not OK
    4) RAID 1 is not OK and could lead to irreversible read-only mode
    5) RAID 10 is not OK and could lead to irreversible read-only mode
    6) quotas are not OK
    7) free-space-tree is not OK and fsck is unable to repair the filesystem

    So, if you are OK using an unstable FS, where the most basic (and important) feature for a production use (like RAID, compression, fsck, quota, data scrubbing) are not supported , you are free to risk your data.

    I would really love mdadm support. Easy to implement (everything is already implemented in PVE, only a change on the installer is needed), fast, stable, flexible. Yes, it lacks for bit-rot protection, but not all users needs this.
     
    Drag_and_Drop likes this.
  11. EuroDomenii

    EuroDomenii Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
  12. Alessandro 123

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    19
    There is a connection: if you want an "insecure" system (mdadm doesn't have any bit-rot protection), use mdadm, not btrfs. btrfs is too much unstable to be used in anything except home users where data loss isn't important.

    The same apply for BTRFS with the exception that BTRFS could lead to data loss.
    I don't think would be a good idea adding btrfs even as technolohy preview (and will stay as "preview" for many, many, many, many years)
     
  13. EuroDomenii

    EuroDomenii Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    15
    There's a confusion here... The Debian/Proxmox OS installation is done on ext4/xfs partitions mdadm based. I prefer this setup also with ZFS, to avoid other non standard installation issues.

    Btrfs is used on different partitions/disks

    Your prediction reminds my of a BTRFS benchmark from 2012
    http://www.ilsistemista.net/index.p...irtual-machines-an-in-depth-look.html?start=6

    “However, it seems that BTRFS really need an SSD to show its full potential. With extremely low access time and no fragmentation problems, SSD are the perfect platform to use BTRFS to its full extent without performance drop. Imagine a Linux-KVM server with loads of SSD space and BTRFS managing all them. Mmm... fantastic vision. However, mechanical HD are going to remain the primary storage tech for many coming years.

    https://www.linux.com/news/high-ava...ss-continuity-says-dietmar-maurer-proxmox-cto Dietmar says in 2016

    “Together with the wide availability of enterprise class NVMe SSD and 10 or 40Gbit networks, high-performance storage clusters are already in place – the upcoming next generation of enterprise SSD storage (Intel 3D Xpoint NVMe SSD) will boost SDS again to an even greater level.” Btw , Intel 3D Xpoint NVMe SSD has 500 K Random write 4k!!!

    So, in 2016, from SSD point of view, we are “many, many, many, many years “ from 2012.

    Time will tell. I rest my case.
     
    #33 EuroDomenii, Mar 27, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  14. Alessandro 123

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    19
    Which is the relation between speed and data reliability?
    You talk about speed and benchmark. I'm talking about data reliability

    Yes, btrfs is fast but YOU WILL LOOSE DATA FOR SURE

    It's an unstable filesystem and MUST NOT be used in production

    There is no raid, no fsck, no data scrubbing, no compression and so on

    Proxmox has native support for ZFS directly from the installer, is totally non sense to use an unstable filesystem when you have a more robust, stable and feature proof filesystem available like ZFS
     
  15. micro

    micro Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had the same issue today. Tried to install 5.0 beta1 over fresh test install of PVE 4.4. It failed on the disk partitioning operation (/dev/sda3...)
    I saw your post earlier today so I have booted from live CD (knoppix), removed the partition table and just to be sure did a wiping of the first gigabyte of the disk:
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdx bs=10M count=100

    On the next attempt to install 5.0 beta1 it worked fine, so the installer is confused with the already installed PVE 4.4 on the disk or it's partitioning.
     
  16. Kmgish

    Kmgish New Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you say switch to our ceph repositories what does that mean? Comment out the repo in ceph.list and/or replace with what?
     
  17. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    498
    "pveceph install" on PVE 5.0 will automatically change the /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ceph.list file to point to our ceph luminous beta repository. you can of course also do this manually:

    Code:
    deb http://download.proxmox.com/debian/ceph-luminous stretch main
    
    or (if you want to test early packages):

    Code:
    deb http://download.proxmox.com/debian/ceph-luminous stretch test
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. bezoar

    bezoar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Core i7-7700, ASUS H170-PRO RTL after installing proxmox on debian with xfce4 does not start lightdm, installation, reinstallation does not, and accordingly in containers also x-server does not start. I understand this is a problem with the new hardware, will it work in the 5th version?
     
  19. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    498
    please don't hijack this thread - you already opened one for your issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. MIlkwerm

    MIlkwerm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    Will 5.0 have all the necessary packages to do 3d desktops? would be nice to install Linux desktops without them falling back to software rendered D.E's
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice