didi767

Apr 11, 2022
Hello everyone,

I moved a passthrough disk to another VM and the web GUI frozen and then forced a reboot. the issue is that system is now stuck in an endless loop.
1) server is booting, I can see my ASRock logo and boot options
2) I can see the countdown to enter PVE
3) my NICs stops
4) system reboots

I tried to use the rescue boot but it just fails with a message:
"error: compression algorithm inherit not supported" (this message appears 4 times)
"error: unable to find boot disk automatically"
"press any key to continue..."

so it doesn't even reach the point where I can investigate the conf files.
another thing is that if I wait a bit, and choose the "rescue boot" it runs, and then it abruptly restarts (I can see that the NICs lights are gone at the same time),

So now I have no idea how to access the files, or how to start and troubleshoot this issue.
I'm not an expert and not sure what I did wrong or this is just bad luck :)

any suggestions?

[UPDATE]
I've managed to login quickly via ssh to the node.
I did zfs pool status and this was the result (I unplugged one of my raid drives, so I guess that's why it shows "degraded"?)
but still I'm not able to login to the web UI and it just rebooted again.

Linux proxmox 5.11.22-4-pve #1 SMP PVE 5.11.22-8 (Fri, 27 Aug 2021 11:51:34 +020 0) x86_64

The programs included with the Debian GNU/Linux system are free software;
the exact distribution terms for each program are described in the
individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.

Debian GNU/Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent
permitted by applicable law.
Last login: Mon Apr 11 16:52:55 2022 from 192.168.0.41
root@proxmox:~# zpool status
pool: local_vm_storage_1tb_sam
state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices has experienced an unrecoverable error. An
attempt was made to correct the error. Applications are unaffected.
action: Determine if the device needs to be replaced, and clear the errors