Error pfsense freebsd

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by prohand, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. joshfokis

    joshfokis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    well it seems I got it working by changing the processor to qemu64 and it came up.
     
  2. davlaw

    davlaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1

    ditto, same here...
     
  3. NiKaro

    NiKaro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked for me. Thanks.
     
  4. Digdug

    Digdug New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I updated to:

    pve-manager: 2.3-13 (pve-manager/2.3/7946f1f1)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-18-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.3-88
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-10-pve: 2.6.32-63
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-18-pve: 2.6.32-88
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.4-4
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.93-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.9-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-36
    qemu-server: 2.3-18
    pve-firmware: 1.0-21
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-48
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-26
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.3-6
    vncterm: 1.0-3
    vzctl: 4.0-1pve2
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.1-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.4-8
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1

    Rebooted and: FreeBSD 8.1 and pfSense v2.02 i386 only boot when setting the cpu to QEMU64
    Host: AMD Phenom II X6 1075T
     
  5. z00te

    z00te New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    updated, rebooted and now works, with kvm64 a pfSense i386 (not tested with qemu64)
    Host with Xeon 3430
    tnx
     
  6. mel128

    mel128 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello !

    This works fine for me.

    Have a nice day

     
  7. peterx

    peterx Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found no way to get pfSense working after complete update to 2.3 on pvetest. But a complete reinstall of pfSense worked perfectly.
    I'm using Proxmox from the beginning (may 2008). It is my feeling that Proxmox was very, very stable for such a complex system in quick development. Untill 2.0. Nowadays I do fear the updates more and more.
    But still very, very grateful for my proxmox.
     
  8. johjoh

    johjoh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    pfSense i386 work.

    pfSense amd64 don't work, stuck after boot the CD installation, I've tried:
    - normal boot, just press enter
    - adding "args: -machine pc-1.0" to the vm configuration
    - options 7,
    set hw.mca.enabled=0 and boot
    - option 7,
    set hint.atkbd.0.disabled="1" and boot

    Edit: if, in the option of VM, I disable KVM Hardware Virtualization it boot without error
    Question: it's safe to leave "KVM Hardware Virtualization" disabled? Does this prejude performance or ProxMox itself?

     
    #68 johjoh, Mar 15, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  9. luehrig

    luehrig New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here with FreeNAS 8.3 64bit. Won't continue after cd bootloader.
    Will it be possible to hand over physical drives to the VM if KVM Hardware Virtualization is disabled? I am just testing it for a project on VMWare Fusion yet.

    UPDATE: I updated the Proxmox host as described in the wiki but problem still occur. The FreeNAS VM does not start. It hangs after the count-down in the cd bootmenu.

    Thank you!
     
    #69 luehrig, Mar 16, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  10. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,449
    Likes Received:
    389
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. HarusKG

    HarusKG New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    #Deleted
     
    #71 HarusKG, Mar 21, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  12. HarusKG

    HarusKG New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    I have the same problem
    I tried install pfSense-LiveCD-2.0.2-RELEASE-amd64-20121207-2239.iso - don't start with enabled "KVM Hardware Virtualization"
    All another settings by default.

    pfSense i386 start normally.


    My pveversion -v

    pve-manager: 2.3-13 (pve-manager/2.3/7946f1f1)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-19-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.3-93
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-19-pve: 2.6.32-93
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-18-pve: 2.6.32-88
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.4-4
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.93-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.9-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-36
    qemu-server: 2.3-18
    pve-firmware: 1.0-21
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-49
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-26
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.3-6
    vncterm: 1.0-3
    vzctl: 4.0-1pve2
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.1-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.4-8
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1
     
  13. coolcat1975

    coolcat1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi!

    proxmox 3 node cluster installed virtual on esxi

    pfsense iso pfSense-LiveCD-2.0.2-RELEASE-amd64-20121207-2239

    root@proxmoxnode2:~# pveversion -v
    pve-manager: 2.3-13 (pve-manager/2.3/7946f1f1)
    running kernel: 2.6.32-19-pve
    proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 2.3-93
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-19-pve: 2.6.32-93
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-18-pve: 2.6.32-88
    lvm2: 2.02.95-1pve2
    clvm: 2.02.95-1pve2
    corosync-pve: 1.4.4-4
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-2
    libqb: 0.10.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.1.93-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-3
    fence-agents-pve: 3.1.9-1
    pve-cluster: 1.0-36
    qemu-server: 2.3-18
    pve-firmware: 1.0-21
    libpve-common-perl: 1.0-49
    libpve-access-control: 1.0-26
    libpve-storage-perl: 2.3-6
    vncterm: 1.0-3
    vzctl: 4.0-1pve2
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.1-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.4-8
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1

    1 socket 4 cores default(kvm64)
    kvm hardware virtualization disabled (cant use under esxi)
    other settings default

    no boot issues

    regards

    CC
     
  14. rengiared

    rengiared Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    are the problems with the latest updates fixed or do i have to do some steps manualy when i update to 2.3?
    thanks
     
  15. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    158
  16. rengiared

    rengiared Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah sorry, damn threaded mode, i must have missed it
    thanks
     
  17. djstrattos

    djstrattos New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    That helped me as well!
     
  18. SamTzu

    SamTzu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    6
    LOL
    As a temp solution why don't you just disable the KVM hardware virtualisation from Options?
    My pfSense (BSD) booted right away after that.
     
  19. denis_d

    denis_d New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. Nachtfalke

    Nachtfalke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice