yarcod

Sep 30, 2020
Hi!

I'm quite new to Proxmox, although I have some Linux experience previously, and I haven't found any working way to access my existing ZFS pool from an OpenMediaVault VM. Ideally, I'd like OMV to get access to the disk space directly without having to do a network share; this is purely based on what I have read as best practice, nothing concrete.

I've tried both sharing the ZFS pool over iSCSI to OMV, but this have failed. Even though I have followed the guide https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage:_ZFS_over_iSCSI, I haven't been able to get any connection whatsoever there. I think this would be my go-to solution, where a separate bridge would limit access to the OMV VM only, and then let OMV handle all network sharing.

Another approach was to pass-through the LSI 9211-8i HBA to OMV, since this is what I used in my previous setup (ESXi+FreeNAS). Likewise, I never got this running either due to IOMMU not being found. Following https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI(e)_Passthrough didn't help. I don't know why this is not working -- the hardware certainly supports it.

My question(s) is: what would be the recommended approach here? What could I be missing, and where do I continue to troubleshoot? When the guides are not working I'm mostly at a loss.

Thanks in advance!

Not sure I understand your setup correctly, but I believe what you mean is that you have a ZFS pool on your PVE instance, and and OMV virtual machine running on top of that. And you want to access that zpool from within the VM.

If so, why not just use what you're given: Add a new Hard Disk to your VM, set the backing storage to your ZFS pool and make it as big as the zpool itself?