Multi-Subnet, Multi-Tenant, VLANned, Bonded & Bridged Network Config - Am I Doing It Right?

SamboNZ

Feb 10, 2021
Hey guys,

I'm an IT veteran but a Proxmox & Linux noob.
I'm configuring a set of Proxmox 6.3-2 servers for use in a relatively complex web hosting environment and I just wanted to get some confirmation that the way I'm configuring the networking is correct.

The network will used a bridged model and public IPs are assigned to the main (physical) firewall with ports forwarded to VMs on internal IPs as appropriate.
There will be VLANs in use on the network, including with the VMs.
There will be 3 clustered Proxmox servers.

Basically the IP network environment is:
10.0.10.x/24 - Public (Connectivity to the Internet via the main (physical) firewall)
10.0.20.x/24 - Management (Internal LAN / Backups etc)
10.0.30.x/24 - Cluster (ProxMox Cluster Traffic)
10.0.40.x/24 - Storage (Dedicated Host IP Connected Storage)

The existing physical switching setup is fully redundant with failover between switches.

Based on this I have created bonded NIC pairs for all 4 IP subnets and bridges for both the Public and Management networks as follows:

1612928290507.png

So, how'd I do? :D
Anyone see any problems / mistakes?

I want to get this right before I configure clustering!

Any feedback greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

10.0.30.x/24 - Cluster (ProxMox Cluster Traffic)
This is the Corosync network right? Configured in /etc/pve/corosync.conf?

If so, don't use a bond for it. Corosync can handle up to 8 links/rings and will switch between them by itself if one becomes unavailable or problematic.
It will do so way faster than the default bond, a few ms instead of the 100ms that an active backup bond will wait by default.

So I would remove that bond and configure 2 different networks on the separate interfaces and let corosync use both directly. See the docs how to configure more links for corosync.