VM disks stripping strategy

advark

Jun 7, 2024
Hi everyone,

Proxmox newbie here. I got a few questions regarding vm disk management.

Context:
The main usage for my PVE, in a home environment, is mainly to host a file server and a multimedia server (DNLA-like), plus a few other small VMs for testing and playing around. The PVE has the following disk setup:
  • 4x 1TB WD Red
    • 2TB ZFS-mirror for Proxmox
    • 2TB ZFS-mirror for ISO and VM config files
  • 4x 2TB WD Red
    • ZRAID1 (diskpool1: ± 6TB)
  • 4x 4TB WD Red
    • ZRAID1 (diskpool2: ± 12TB)
  • 4x 6TB WD Red
    • ZRAID1 (diskpool3: ± 18TB)
  • 4x 8TB WD Red
    • ZRAID1 (diskpool4: ± 24TB)
Each group of 4 disks is attached to a SAS controller using 1 channel (4 SAS lanes) per group. My initial idea was to use a whole diskpool for a server, e.g.diskpool3 for the file server and vmdisk4 for the multimedia server, using multiple smaller VM disks (like 2 or 4TB each) to make it easier to move it around if needs be; and the use a string raid of filesystem so the VM see it as 1 disk. I think this approach will make it easier to increase disk space in future and I don't see the need of redundancy inside the VM since the physical disks already use some king of redundancy. Critical data on the file server is rsync'ed to a NAS hourly and a daily offsite backup is in place.

Question 1:
I think my initial approach is wrong because if 2 disks of the underlying RAIDZ array fail (i.e. diskpool3) , the whole VM data is lost. What I'm thinking now, instead, is the use the same approach but spreading the VM disks throughout all disk pool. For example: vm-100-disk0 on diskpool1, vm-100-disk1 on diskpool2, etc. This way, if 1 physical disk fails in every diskpool, the VM should survive. Right?

Question 2:
Is redundancy needed inside the VM filesystem? I don't think so since the physical disks are already (somewhat) redundant.

Question 3: