Proxmox Server - This site can’t be reached

MiteshSPxMX

Jan 18, 2022
Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to Proxmox and I'm not that technical either. Last month I installed Proxmox onto an old machine and also installed Kali Linux and Ubuntu onto it. I installed this via the GUI interface which I accessed using https://192.168.0.38:8006/. Since then I had an issue with my router and replaced it with a new one however whenever I try getting into the Proxmox GUI interface I get the follwoing message "This site can’t be reached".

I'm completely stuck on this and I have no idea how I can re-configure the network settings using the Proxmox root terminal. The last I want to do is re-install the whole thing. Could someone please kindly help me with this issue?

Much appreciated,
Mitesh

Maybe after the routerswap your IP-range changed. What IP-address does your computer (the one you use for accessing Proxmox) has now?

Probably easiest is to change the router to the old IP-range. What router do you have?

I now have the Google Router, but instead of changing the IP-range on the Google router, can you kindly help me update the new IP range on the Proxmox server instead?

Hi birdy,
I tried following the steps on here https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/help-with-changing-ip-address-reinstalling.55421/
by updating the following
1) /etc/network/interfaces - updated the 'address' and 'gateway' fields with my new IP Address
2) /etc/hosts - updated the hostname from the old IP address to the new IP Address.

Even though I have made these changes on the Root terminal of Proxmox, I am still having the same issue and not able to connect to the Proxmox server GUI. I'm getting

"This site can’t be reached"​

Do you think you are able to help any further with this?

Did you reboot?

Can you share output of:

cat /etc/network/interfaces

cat /etc/hosts

And what is the IP of your Google Router?

Yes I tried rebooting but still having no luck.

output from cat /etc/network/interfaces
"