PROXMOX on R720xd - Home Server Build - Looking for suggestions

Psilospiral

Jun 25, 2019
Greetings Forum:

I'm new to PROXMOX. I have been experimenting with PROXMOX on a Dell R720xd, a H710 HBA flashed to IT mode, an internal PMR79 Dual SD Card module to store the OS, numerous 3TiB SAS drives, and 128GiB of ECC RAM. I run one QNAP NAS box for file storage, a media server (Plex via QNAP package), and to host numerous virtual machines via QNAP's Virtualization Station. I run another QNAP NAS box to rsync critical files for backup. I continuously run three separate VMs of Debian LXDE on the primary QNAP NAS, along with a few VMs of Windows, FreeBSD, and other flavors of Linux for occasional testing, learning, sandboxing, etc.. The continuously running VMs host a torrent seed box, a download box, as well as a Ubiquiti Controller for my UniFi setup.

With any more than three VMs running, my QNAP box chokes. Hence, I am now building the R720xd server to accomplish all of the above with a little more horsepower. While I'm at it, I want to include pfSense (or OPNsense) as a firewall/router appliance to take advantage of OpenVPN and Pi-Hole plugins. The requirement will also be a CIFS and NFS network share of a ZFS pool created on the bank of 3TiB SAS drives in the R720xd. I prefer to utilize 10 of the 12 available 3.5" SAS bays for a single pool of shared ZFS storage, keep 2 hot spares on standby, and host the OS from the internal PMR79 Dual SD Card module. The zpool would then supply all of the PVE VMs with storage as well provide network shares that all could reach....