Pfsense Web interface unreachable

Klueze

May 27, 2020
Hello there,

I restored a previously preconfigured pfsense VM on Proxmox hoping to change in the future the existing rules contained on it, but now I’m not able to connect through the web interface to the pfsense, although I’m able to open the console of the pfsense on Proxmox and interact with the VM. I can’t see the VM from my network either. The question is:

This problem has to do with a wrong network configuration on Proxmox or some rules that needs to be changed on the pfsense VM?

To your previous question: yes and no. Yes I have restarted several times the whole system, and no, I haven’t checked this log (in the other post I explained in detail my situation, I’m a newbie in this domain, but I’m doing my best), promise that I’ll do it as soon as possible.

Sorry for the delay, because of the present problem I don’t have access to Internet as usual. Today I try something new, maybe this can clarify the situation:

With the VM fresh restored, I tried to ping to a real PC on my network, the result: Invalid argument. After that I used the option for resetting the pfsense to default, when I tried to ping again I got a successful response, but still not able to connect using the web interface from the LAN. Finally I disabled all the pfsense rules and I could get the access by web. So, this tells me at least, that the Proxmox network configuration and the identification of interfaces on the pfsense are fine. I don’t know, what could be happening, if there is a conflict with some other element on the pfsense as result of restoring a VM belonging to a different network to mine or some other reason. So I hope that this new elements help some way. Maybe this problem belongs now to a pfsense forum instead here. Thanks a lot any way. If you have any other advice let me know.