[SOLVED] NEED HELP to setup gpu passthrough/iommu/AMD 6500XT for gaming/f@h INTEL Alder Lake

Redicat

May 22, 2021
Hello i NEED HELP to setup gpu passthrough/iommu/AMD 6500XT for Gaming/Folding@Home INTEL Alder Lake i am a big noob i want to install AMD gpu drivers in a Windows 11 PRO VM in Eufi specs are AMD 6500XT/Intel 12600KF so i DONT have IGPU. proxmox running native on AMD 6500XT.

Thanks for the help in advance!

RUNNING PROXMOX VE 7.1

Last edited:
Reactions: nick.kopas
Hmmm... When you boot Proxmomx, does it look this?
boot-grub.png

Or does it look like this?
boot-systemdboot.png

Last edited:
@nick.kopas I did nearly everything but it failed to start the VM

Task viewer: VM 100 - Start

OutputStatus

Stop
swtpm_setup: Not overwriting existing state file.
kvm: -device vfio-pci,host=0000:03:00.0,id=hostpci0.0,bus=ich9-pcie-port-1,addr=0x0.0,multifunction=on: Failed to mmap 0000:03:00.0 BAR 0. Performance may be slow
kvm: -device vfio-pci,host=0000:03:00.0,id=hostpci1.0,bus=ich9-pcie-port-2,addr=0x0.0,multifunction=on: vfio 0000:03:00.0: device is already attached
stopping swtpm instance (pid 1249) due to QEMU startup error
TASK ERROR: start failed: QEMU exited with code 1

Fist off, let's get some updates installed and pin a functional kernel:
Code:
rm /etc/apt/sources.list.d/pve-enterprise.list
echo "deb http://download.proxmox.com/debian/pve bullseye pve-no-subscription" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/pve-no-subscription.list
apt-get update
apt-get install -y pve-kernel-5.13.19-6-pve
proxmox-boot-tool kernel pin 5.13.19-6-pve
apt-get dist-upgrade -y
shutdown -r now

NOTE: If it asks you any questions during this process... always answering yes should be fine.

Some things to check:
  • Change this line in /etc/default/grub to match what I have below:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet intel_iommu=on iommu=pt video=efifb:off video=simplefb:off video=vesafb:off"
  • Make sure VT and VT-d are enable in host BIOS.