degudejung

Jun 17, 2021
Hi,
I'm fairly new to Proxmox and Linux, so please excuse my noobiness.

Objective
Trying to move away from a MacMini hosting SMB shares (the crooked Apple way), TimeMachines and running some Debian/Windows VMs via Virtualbox for Homelab stuff. Moving towards a "real" (home) server with Debian basis to
- run a few virtual machines
- run several docker containers
- provide real/standard SMB/NFS shares
- act as TimeMachine host for all the Macs in the house
- do all that with a reasonable degree of stability and security

Hardware
- old Dell T110 with Xeon X3440, 4 Cores, 8 Threads
- 16 GB ECC RAM
- 2x 1Gig-Ethernet, currently no link aggregation, only 1 connected, to get started (network infrastructure is, of course, also pure gigabit)
- onboard SATA-III:
-- 1x 120 GB SSD for primary OS
-- 2x 1 TB SSD for VM disks, ISOs and other "fast stuff"
- on PERC H200 (PCIe), flashed to LSI 8211-i8 in IT mode with FW P20, used as HBA:
-- 2x 4 TB HDD for ZFS Storage
-- 2x 2 TB HDD for ZFS Storage
- on PCIe 2. Gen.:
-- 1x 32 GB NVME for ZFS as log and cache for ZFS

Configuration
- bare metal OS: Proxmox VE 6.4.8
- both 1 TB SSDs as LVM storage
- VM101:
-- OpenMediaVault (OMV) current release
-- VM disk sits on LMV storage (SSD)
-- 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM (min. 2 GB)
-- physical disks on LBA attached to VM via "qm set 101 -scsi1 /dev/disk/by-id/..."
-- within OMV created a ZFS pool: mirror (2x 4 TB) mirror (2x 2 TB) log 8 GB cache 16 GB
-- created dataset "test" on that ZFS
-- created a shared folder "share_test" within that dataset
-- shared that folder "share_test" via SMB
- other VMs, not relevant here

Problem(s)