Best Practise: 'VM's running in ZFS file system or 'Directory'

gb00s

Aug 4, 2017
HI,

I'm fairly new to Proxmox and ZFS. As you can see in the screenshot below, I have set up 2x pools named 'storage' and 'vm'. In each pool, I have set up files systems with different configs for each filesystem.

ZFS_List1.png
In Proxmox my place to store backups is set up just as a directory under the 'storage' pool and backups are placed in the dump folder. If I'm not mistaken as a ZFS newbie, each vm is a single 'block' device/file on it's won. Correct? All vm's are set up as raw devices/files. Now as I realized I may have set up the wrong block size for the zvol's to store the virtual machines (1024K) I'm asking myself what is the best practice to 'store' the virtual machines and backup the same. Is it better to store the vm's and run them from a zvol or do I set up a directory in Proxmox under the pool and store the vm's there? Which way is to better in terms of performance and/or running and maintaining backups?

Additionally, related to backups what would be the best practice to backup each vm in a zvol? Snapshots or replication?

Any share of thoughts is appreciated. If you need more, please let me know. Thank you in advance.

Reactions: stefano.molinaro
This is highly depending on your disk configuration but for our case we have a single stripped mirror zpool with all same size disk (which is also the root pool for Proxmox). When creating a CT/VM we select the only storage available: local-zfs. Never had an issue. Keep it simple.

The advantage of having Proxmox create/configure your main pool is that all the pool settings are configured correctly or are the default and most of the time you don't have to change anything.