Docker support in Proxmox

I think supporting native docker will give Proxmox another boost, because it already can use LXC and KVM.
It's really good feature, therefore I'm asking about it. Once Proxmox droped OpenVZ and started using LXC, may be it's time to add native docker support?

Tom, may be Dietmar need to look at this post.
I can help with coding.

docker is the defacto standard in containerization, at my company there is strong push from developers to go to a docker based infrastructure.... at this point it inevitably leades me away from proxmox which I have been using for so many years. Please add native support for docker containers (not inside KVM)

However I'm not planning to use it myself currently, I agree. I think adding Docker support is a nice feature for PVE, because I think Docker will be the no. 1 choice when it comes to containers for lots of people (however if I was using containers, I think I would prefer LXC. But Docker simply have a good reputation and is well known, I think better known than LXC).

Last edited:
Reactions: Th3Dan
I'm going to find out what happens if I just install Docker on one of my bare-metal proxmox hosts, by adding the Debian Jessie apt repository and just installing it that way..

I know it would be a safer move to just run it in a KVM guest, but bare metal performance would be great to get more bang for the buck from a proxmox host .. bad idea? Who knows

I'm going to find out what happens if I just install Docker on one of my bare-metal proxmox hosts, by adding the Debian Jessie apt repository and just installing it that way..

I know it would be a safer move to just run it in a KVM guest, but bare metal performance would be great to get more bang for the buck from a proxmox host .. bad idea? Who knows
have you tried LXC? It is very fast .

since the 90's we have used vservers, then openvz and now lxc. they are all close to bare metal speed. LXC looks to be future proof as no special kernel is needed.