ZFS RAID1 to storage important "standard" files?

Jokte

Mar 11, 2023
Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to this server, virtualization and backup stuff.

I have a 2 TB hard drive with very important information for me. I am planning to buy two 8TB disks and put them in RAID1. My question is if I can use the Proxmox interface to put them in RAID1 with ZFS and then mount them in a QEMU virtual machine.

My idea would be that Proxmox would do the replication or backup and the virtual machine would have read and write access to one or both disks.

I don't know if my idea is correct or if it can be done. In case it can be done, can you tell me how?
If not, could you tell me how to do something similar to what I want?

Thanks so much!

My question is if I can use the Proxmox interface to put them in RAID1 with ZFS and then mount them in a QEMU virtual machine.
Yes, you can create it using the webUI. But you can't mount a ZFS Pool in a VM. What you can do is create a virtual disk on that pool (which creates a zvol that will be used as a block device to store that virtual disk) and use that virtual disk wit hthe filesystem of your choice to store your data inside the VM.

My idea would be that Proxmox would do the replication or backup and the virtual machine would have read and write access to one or both disks.
Raid1 will always read and write to/from both disks. They are mirrored. And Raid never replaces a backup. So your backups you should get another server or at least additional disks that are not part of that raid1 pool.

Yes, you can create it using the webUI. But you can't mount a ZFS Pool in a VM. What you can do is create a virtual disk on that pool (which creates a zvol that will be used as a block device to store that virtual disk) and use that virtual disk wit hthe filesystem of your choice to store your data inside the VM.