ZFS-Local Deletion

Isaac.maag

Jun 4, 2023
Hello, I do not want a zfs-local partition on my server so I deleted it from the gui by going to datacenter>Storage>and clicking remove. However I watched a networkchuck video where he did this with a lvm-local instead. He said that once it has been removed from the GUI you need to remove it from the CML as well. The command he used was "lvremove /dev/pve/data" This command did not work for me. I assume it is because I am using ZFS instead of a lvm partition? Can someone please point me in the right direction. Maybe with ZFS I don't need to delete it Via command line? If I do need to delete it from the CML can someone please tell me the proper commands to accomplish this? I am new to Linux and would love some help.

Why do you install with ZFS and then remove it afterwards? This makes no sense at all.

Maybe explain why do you want to do that?

I didn't know you could chose to not have it install during setup. I have two ssds setup with raid1. I don't like the idea of having a local-zfs and a local. I would rather just have everything in one place. I watched a video on networkchucks youtube channel and he said to delete the local-zfs because it takes up tons of storage just for isos. I am sure there is a conceptual error as I am new. Maybe you could better expalin this to me?

Why do you install with ZFS and then remove it afterwards? This makes no sense at all.

Maybe explain why do you want to do that?
Could you explain to me why there even is a local-zfs and a local? Or a local-lvm and a local? On networkchucks youtube video his local-lvm was using 300 gbs of his 500gb drive so his main storage for VMS only had about 200 gb which is obviously not what you want. Who needs 300 gbs just for ISOs. Or is it required to have a local-zfs to have raid1 setup? Thanks in advance.

Could you explain to me why there even is a local-zfs and a local?