[SOLVED] vm running rsync hangs proxmox

marceloprimon

Mar 10, 2022
Hello, I am new to this forum and I have been using Proxmox for a few months now. I am used to run backups on my vms, mostly debian, using rsync. Since I migrated a few physical servers to Proxmox, all of them freeze during these backups. I searched the forum and found some threads saying that the problem could be on ZFS or that if I use the opiton bwlimit on rsync the problem would be solved, but that didn't happen in my case. Even running rsync on a vm with the option --bwlimit=5m the whole server hangs, and I need to restart it. I changed the hard disk cache on the vm to write through and the problem wasn't solved. Is there anyone experiencing this, or anyone that could help me? Thanks in advance.

I run rsync using these options:
rsync -avzu --delete --bwlimit=5m

I use Proxmox 7.0

Attachments

• vm config.png
    vm config.png
    28.8 KB · Views: 17
Last edited:
I still have this problem. I raised the amount of RAM to 8GB, disabled balooning and created another VM with 4 cores and 16GB of swap. Still the problem persists. I ran htop during the copy process and noticed the cache memory of the VM was full when the whole server hanged. Should I still increase the swap partition?

Last edited:
I am using rsync as well and never saw these kind of issues. How large are your filesystems and how many files does rsync need to handle?
I only saw issues with memory consumption on fsck running out of memory (1gb memory per 1TB disk was a good value for me) but never on rsync.

Since you are running zfs on the host: have you limited the zfs arc/cache?
By default thus can eat up to 50% of your memory. Maybe your issue lies there?