Use VM as router (OPNSense) - Pull Proxmox IP from VM's DHCP

nic.aslett

Jul 30, 2022
Hello all, I am trying to set up OPNSense on my Proxmox server and disallow Proxmox from accessing the internet directly, as it's plugged directly into the modem.
I am still learning - excuse me if this is a simple request

Expectations:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Server boots into Proxmox - No IP configurations, no connection to WAN
Proxmox loads OPNSense VM
OPNSense DHCP distributes IP to Proxmox
I can access Proxmox on my network
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any thoughts?

Any thoughts?
1.) I wouldn't use DHCP and use a static IP for the PVE host. That way you can access the webUI from LAN even if the OPNsense VM fails to boot. Otherwise you are locked out.
2.) If you don't want the PVE to use the WAN NIC, just don't assign a IP to that WAN NIC/bridge.

1.) I wouldn't use DHCP and use a static IP for the PVE host. That way you can access the webUI from LAN even if the OPNsense VM fails to boot. Otherwise you are locked out.
2.) If you don't want the PVE to use the WAN NIC, just don't assign a IP to that WAN NIC/bridge.
Thanks for your response Dunuin!

1.) I can set it to static - good call.
2.) I am unsure how this would work.. If the WAN doesn't have an address, how will it determine an IP from the modem?

I set the static IP for the network device that is plugged into my network for Proxmox.
I have set up the manual connections for the WAN.
All is good to go. Thank you for the fast resolve.

I've done the configuration you're talking about in the past
While it's possible, I would advise against it, since it's error prone and would block your entire hypervisor

If you really want, here's what I would do:
  1. Install proxmox