Stuck at EFI stub

gabbox

Jul 8, 2023
Hi everyone,
I've been using Proxmox for a few years now and I've been extremely happy with it.
I'm making a new deployment on a Dell Poweredge r530 Server and I'm having some strange problems.
I had previously used Proxmox 7.4 with no issues at all, however a fresh Proxmox 8.0 install is giving me plenty of headaches.
It installs fine on a ZFS RAID 1 pool, however it wont boot. It hangs after "EFI stub: Loaded initrd from LINUX_EFI_INITRD_MEDIA_GUID device path".
I'm using a PERC HBA330 as a HBA controller. However I tried replacing it with a PERC H730 RAID controller in HBA mode and it boots fine. It's very weird.
Does anyone know any way I can diagnose this booting issue? I don't want to deploy a new server on a previous Proxmox release.

I add that the Proxmox 8.0 install is on kernel 6.2.16-3 while the Proxmox 7.4 install was on the opt-in kernel 6.2.11-2, so i think we can rule out a kernel problem.

Regards

Last edited:
I tried to install 8.0 on Dell R730xd yesterday at night, installation went fine, but it also hands on the "EFI stub: Loaded initrd from LINUX_EFI_INITRD_MEDIA_GUID device path". Also using PERC HBA330.

Does an installation of (only) Debian 12 succeed? If so - you could install Proxmox 8.0 after the fact.

I did not try to install Debian 12, but what I tried was - I installed 7.4, and then did in place upgrade to 8. It booted. Several observations:
1. The version of the instance after boot is 8.0.3, the image I downloaded and used to install version 8 was 8.0-2. It's possible something has changed in the repos after the installation image was built.
2. The message EFI prints was something like "EFI stub: Loaded initrd from command line." or something like that, but not LINUX_EFI_INITRD_MEDIA_GUID. So it's possible the old version and upgrade configure boot loader slightly different than the installer of 8.0.

If you are ok with reinstall - you can do the 7.4 install and upgrade to 8.