set an ip-adress to a vm

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by informant, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. informant

    informant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,

    where can i set the ip-adress for a VM (on interface)?

    regards and thanks for information.
     
  2. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,833
    Likes Received:
    158
    Hi,
    with bridged interface inside the VM (kvm and openvz).

    Udo
     
  3. informant

    informant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, thanks for your answer.

    I mean, where can i set the IP-Adress in webinterface? I donĀ“t find the menu...
     
  4. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    393
    see screenshot:

    add-ip-venet.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Faye

    Faye Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    But to be clear, that will only set the address for a venet interface, These are not very useful if you have multiple interfaces on your box (one for VMs, one for console) because of the routing nightmare they can create. Traffic from a venet interface comes from the hypervisor, not the VM and so the hypervisor needs to be able to have a default route where it cannot due to its primary interface being different. With vmbr0, the routing is easier to manage, since it reduces the hypervisor to a switching role.

    It does mean that your hypervisor has no records of your IPs so I'm using DNS for that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice