Running OPNSense on Proxmox on a Protectli FW4B (without IOMMU)

CharlieCortial

Sep 20, 2023
France
Hello everyone,

NOTE: in my message below, I make assumptions and guesses based on my research, but it’s very possible it’s full of mistakes and misunderstandings on my part…o_O

To preface:
I am pretty new to OPNsense (although I had just a bit of experience with pfSense), and entirely new to Proxmox VE.
In the past, I used this FW4B from Protectli as a Firewall/Router by installing pfSense directly on it. Recently, I started to discover and understand the possibilities and benefits of using something like Proxmox. In the coming future, I intend to build a DIY machine to run Proxmox with a few VMs, for my Homelab. For now, I just want to learn and become more comfortable with it (Proxmox) with hardware I already have. Hence, the use of this FW4B, on which I intend to run maybe just one other VM, since it’s a small machine.

The goal:
I have a good quality fiber internet uplink, and I’d like to put the internet router in bridge mode, and use the Protectli FW4B as my router/firewall instead. The FW4B would run Proxmox with an OPNsense VM, and OPNsense would be the router/firewall. The hardware has 4 NICs. I’d like to use the first as WAN, where my uplink arrives. Of the 3 other NICs, one should be used for a TP-Link AP that will serve WiFi in the house, and the 2 others will be used for the LAN network (maybe 2 different networks, but that’s a secondary and not pressing concern).

The Problem: