PVE not showing full 3TB hdd capacity, only shows 100gb?

ejb101

Feb 27, 2023
Hi, new Proxmox/server user here. I'm having trouble configuring my machine to use all 3 TB of storage on my hard disk, I already have 3 VMs set up, and I noticed that the hard disk was being occupied way faster than I anticipated. then I saw the supposed maximum capacity. any ideas on how I can reconfigure it to use the full drive?pve.PNG
update: when I try to create a VM now, I can't select a storage disk, it's blank (see attached image pve2)

Attachments

• pve2.PNG
    pve2.PNG
    22.8 KB · Views: 39
Last edited:
You should give us more infos. What is lsblk, cat /etc/pve/storage.cfg, vgs, lvs and zpool list returning?

You should give us more infos. What is lsblk, cat /etc/pve/storage.cfg, vgs, lvs and zpool list returning?
here are screenshots of what the shell returned for those commands. I apologize if I misunderstood, I'm still very new to the networking and Proxmox realm.

Attachments

• zpool list.PNG
    zpool list.PNG
    3.1 KB · Views: 40
  • vgs and lvs.PNG
    vgs and lvs.PNG
    78.9 KB · Views: 37
  • cat.PNG
    cat.PNG
    11.8 KB · Views: 36
  • lsblk.PNG
    lsblk.PNG
    82.8 KB · Views: 36
So you installed PVE using LVM as storage. There you had the option to specify how your storage should be divided (See paragraph "Advanced LVM Configuration Options" here: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Installation). I guess you didn't changed anything there, so the defaults were used which resulted in a 8GiB LV for SWAP, 112GiB LV for your root filesystem (your "local" storage in the webUI is part of this) and 2.58TiB for a LVM-thin pool (which is shown in the webUI as "local-lvm" storage).