ProxMox, Vlan's and ACL Rules

ianmud

Mar 21, 2024
Background: I am a relative networking novice and what I have learned has been mostly by accident and preceded the advent of useful AI's so is quite cobbled together. I have somehow managed to set up what I believe to be a relatively secure network and am trying to be prudent about how I add ProxMox to the mix. I have it installed on the management network now, but am not willing to add more VM's until I can find a more secure way of proceeding.

Environment:
TP-Link Omada SDN software controlled network (running in ProxMox VM on Ubuntu 20.04)
Management Network (VLAN56) 192.168.56.xx (router, smart switch, access points, my pc)
Non_Critical Network (VLAN156) 192.168.156.xx
ProxMox Version 8.1.4 (at present, running in Management Network)
ACL rules:
1. A pair of rules that allow access to the entire network from vlan56 but that prevent access to that vlan56 from vlan156.
2. A set of rules port based rules that allow such things as printers on vlan156 to communicate with my personal computer that exists on vlan56

Here is what I think I would like to do (it may be that there is a better way, and if so, I am all ears):

1. Add a new VLAN, vlan256 and run just ProxMox on that VLAN (I don't need help with this)

2. Run my Omada Software controller in a Proxmox VM on vlan56 (management vlan). I am hoping for:
a. A pointer to a good primer for setting up the linux bridge and any ancillary requirements (it can be a gui based primer or a command line primer)
b. An explanation of what ACL Rules I should put in place that punches a hole into the management network (vlan56) from vlan256 (ProxMox vlan) but that doesn't expose more of vlan56 than is required to install the omada sdn software (on ubuntu 20.04) and communicate with the VM. So, for example, if I can limit access to specific protocols (UDP, TCP, etc...) and ports, that would be great.

3. Run all other VM's/LXC Containers on the vlan156 network.