Proxmox VE 6.0 beta released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Jul 4, 2019.

  1. Gaia

    Gaia Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    No bug, as stated in the link Stoiko posted link "su" altered it's behavior, quote for convenience:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Gaia likes this.
  3. vanes

    vanes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys! I need some help. I installed proxmox 6 beta root on zfs raid1 on 2 sata ssd (uefi boot). Everything seems fine, but how is disk replace procedure now? Is it same as in previous version withoun uefi boot? Second question is about trim. Trim works automaticaly or need to be set up, for autotrim?
    Sorry for my english =)
     
  4. liquidox

    liquidox Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why would the disk replace commands change? Those are native ZFS commands, check how your disks are named in your pool and you know what replace commands to run.

    For trim, read: https://github.com/zfsonlinux/zfs/releases and search for Trim.
     
  5. vanes

    vanes New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant boot partitions when using ZFS root via UEFI (proxmox 6 using systemd-boot instead of grub when using uefi boot on zfs). How to make new disk bootable? If possible, write some manual please
    I figured it out. (zpool set autotrim=on rpool)
     
  6. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    Initial documentation patches regarding this all have been already sent and are expected to be applied in their final form soon.
    There will be a small tool which can assist one in replacing a Device and getting the Boot stuff to work again for the new one, which is naturally also possible to do by hand.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    noname and vanes like this.
  7. edwin eefting

    edwin eefting New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes finally! I'm needing ZFS TRIM support, since my disks are wearing too fast now. (no trim means writeamplification)

    I'll wait a few weeks and if there are no huge problems i'll upgrade my cluster.

    Is it possible to only update corosync clusterwide, and then upgrade one node to 6.0 while the rest stays on 5.4? This way i can test without too much risk.
     
  8. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,283
    Likes Received:
    506
    yes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. noname

    noname New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    if I understand correctly, can be done via proxmox interface ?
     
  10. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    Replacing a failed ZFS device? No, not yet, tooling is CLI only, at least it will be for the initial Proxmox VE 6.0 release.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. noname

    noname New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the information
    planning for 2019 or middle 2020 ?
     
  12. jdancer

    jdancer New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone else confirm that /usr/sbin/ceph-disk exists? It shows up in 'apt-file list ceph-osd' but not in /usr/sbin.

    I did check my other 2 nodes and no ceph-disk.

    I also did a 'apt-get install --reinstall ceph-osd' but still no ceph-disk.
     
  13. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    No, ceph-disk was deprecated with Ceph Mimic and fully dropped with Nautilus, it was replaces with ceph-volume.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. jdancer

    jdancer New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the fun continues.

    Before I did a clean install of 6.0 beta, I backed up my ansible playbooks from 5.4 VE which worked.

    So did a 'apt-get install ansible' and 'apt-get python-pip. Then did a 'pip install proxmoxer'

    When I run the playbook to create a VM, I get the following error:

    'authorization on proxmox cluster failed with exception: invalid literal for float(): 6-0.1'

    Did API access change from 5.4 to 6.0 beta?
     
  15. bogo22

    bogo22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always followed the entry in the pve-wiki (here), hopefully it will be updated too if pve6 stable is released.
     
  16. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    Yes, the "GET /nodes/{nodename}/version" call changed it's return format a bit, from PVE 5:

    Code:
    # pvesh get /nodes/dev5/version --output-format=json-pretty
    {
       "release" : "11",
       "repoid" : "6df3d8d0",
       "version" : "5.4"
    }
    
    to PVE 6:
    Code:
    pvesh get /nodes/dev6/version --output-format=json-pretty
    {
       "release" : "6.0",
       "repoid" : "c148050a",
       "version" : "6.0-1"
    }
    
    In short, the relase is now the main Proxmox VE relase (6.0 or 6.1 for example) repoid stayed the same and version is the full current manager version, (i.e., what the concatenation of "release" and "version" from the old 5.X call)

    see https://git.proxmox.com/?p=pve-manager.git;a=commitdiff;h=b597d23d354665ddea247c3ad54ece1b84921768 for full details.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    FinnTux likes this.
  17. jdancer

    jdancer New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm guessing I have to fill out an issue request to proxmoxer maintainers?
     
  18. martin.g

    martin.g New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm guessing you have to change to change your API requests methods :)
    Therefore Betas are :)
     
  19. t.lamprecht

    t.lamprecht Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    179
    Yes, poking the ansible playbook providers could be enough, I'd guess that at least this change should not be do hard to adapt. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Gaia

    Gaia Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    apt update:

    Code:
    Err:5 https://enterprise.proxmox.com/debian/pve buster InRelease                       
      401  Unauthorized [IP: 66.70.154.81 443]
    Reading package lists... Done
    E: Failed to fetch https://enterprise.proxmox.com/debian/pve/dists/buster/InRelease  401  Unauthorized [IP: 66.70.154.81 443]
    E: The repository 'https://enterprise.proxmox.com/debian/pve buster InRelease' is not signed.
    N: Updating from such a repository can't be done securely, and is therefore disabled by default.
    N: See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details
    node is registered with the key. fresh buster install, followed by pve, according to instructions. key has been re-issued, shows as active.

    tried
    Code:
    apt-get update -o Debug::Acquire::https=true
    apt-key list shows the pve 6 key
     
    #60 Gaia, Jul 10, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice