Proxmox 8 will not connect to network

scott90210

Jul 4, 2023
Good morning everyone. I am completely new to Proxmox and have read dozens of threads and am still having issues. I installed Proxmox 8 on a new SSD in a mini-PC (MULTIPLE times) but I am not able to connect to the UI or even have my router recognize that the PC is connected to the network.

I have verified that the NIC is working properly as I have swapped out the PROXMOX SSD with another SSD that has Windows 11 installed; Windows 11 successfully connected to the network with no issues. I have set the DHCP settings in my router to have the NIC MAC set to a static IP, which worked fine with the Windows SSD.

I am including a pic of the ip address, ip r, ip a and cat /etc/network/interfaces commands from the proxmox pc directly. The 'enp2s0' is the hardwire NIC (MAC 68-1D...) I selected in the setup process, whereas the 'wlp3s0' is the onboard wireless, which was NOT selected in the setup process.
Thank you to anyone that can help with this!

Attachments

• IMG_1301a.jpg
    IMG_1301a.jpg
    777.4 KB · Views: 18
Link is down: NO-CARRIER.... vmbr0 state DOWN....
1688567156704.png

enp2s0 interface, that is part of your bridge and where the IP address is assigned, shows "NO CARRIER" , meaning the NIC did not detect a live cable.
Was your windows box using wireless connection by chance? Is the cable actually plugged in?
Wireless NICs are not encouraged with PVE.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Reactions: itNGO
Thank you both. Yes, I can confirm that Windows used the NIC when it connected. Confirmed in both windows and the router with the NIC MAC connected. Even now, the NIC has flashing lights and I have changed the cable and the port on the router. I can even see the router port flashing, confirming that data is being transmitted through the port.