Proxmox 5.1 DRBD 9 problem

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by luklow, Mar 26, 2018.

  1. luklow

    luklow New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys
    I'm trying to setup 3 nodes cluster on proxmox 5.1 and synchronizate disk on DRBD9.
    I had create cluster successfully, but I still have a huge problem with drbd 9 setup.
    When I run command
    "drbdmanage init 192.168.6.6", i got few massages
    "You are going to initialize a new drbdmanage cluster.
    CAUTION! Note that:
    * Any previous drbdmanage cluster information may be removed
    * Any remaining resources managed by a previous drbdmanage installation
    that still exist on this system will no longer be managed by drbdmanage

    Confirm:

    yes/no: yes
    "
    and from this moment nothing happen. I waiting for a long time (few minutes), and i didn't receive any error.

    My next step is break this command, and run following command:
    drbdmanage uninit
    drbdmanage restart
    drbdmanage init 192.168.6.6
    From this point drbdmanage wasn't create, and initialization stopped on the same place.
    I was trying reboot server, and nothing change.

    I have 2 interfaces. On 1 interface i have adres IP to login from ssh or web page.
    2nd interface is for drbd.
    My configuration on vs6
    2: eno1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq master vmbr0 state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 44:a8:42:48:93:31 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    4: enp8s0f0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:1b:21:bc:8d:54 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.6.6/24 brd 192.168.6.255 scope global enp8s0f0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::21b:21ff:febc:8d54/64 scope link
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    more /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    10.0.0.104 s6 pvelocalhost
    10.0.0.105 vs7
    10.0.0.106 vs8

    Can anybody help me with this problem?
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    315
    Hi,

    DRBD is not a part of Proxmox and will supported by Linbit directly. So you have to ask them.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hi luklow,
    one week ago I gave drbd9 the last chance for my home pve-cluster (sync between two nodes).

    I'm not able to got this running... the best thing was, that one node say both nodes are comnnected - but the other node say, the other node isn't connected...
    You will find some howtos, which show was happens if all running well - but no one, how got it running if the connection don't work.

    I removed drbd - it's sad but for me it's looks not that is useable - not even at home for test.

    Udo
     
  4. mmenaz

    mmenaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry if I repeat myself, but really proxmox team should consider to support DRBD9 AGAIN.
    We that are very small can't afford Ceph (that officially requires at least 3 nodes, but not in production because is not "safe" this way), while with DRBD9 you can have 2 storage node and one very small PC as quorum provider, so a very competitive/relatively cheap solution.
    Since long time Drbd have reverted it's license to the original one so there is no more reason to be against it.
    I don't think that DRDB benefits from Proxmox as much as Proxmox user's would benefit from DRDB9, so this way we are just hurting ourselves.
    At least until a different affordable real time duplicaton with only 2 storage node solution emerges...
    Btw, at least what about resuming the DRBD9 wiki page where we can add/update our experinece and suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  5. christophe

    christophe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    2
    +1
    And yes, it si possible, easy and safe to use drbd 9 in PVE 5.x. It is a Win/Win combo!

    I can’t believe Udo failed to run such setup?

    Christophe.
     
  6. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,551
    Likes Received:
    405
    Linbit maintains and support DRBD integration for Proxmox VE. I assume the creators of DRBD are the best guys for supporting their own tools, so what is wrong in your opinion with this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mmenaz

    mmenaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's simple, Proxmox already uses a lot of technologies other have create (i.e. ceph), but provides the necessary plugin, adjustments and corollary software support / compatibility check/fix that makes 'the whole package' work smoothly, especially when you update a server.
    Let's say you introduce something in Proxmox 5.2 (or just in the next update of 5.1) that requires some adjustment on Drbd9 plugin, or a new/different version of a library both of you use. I would update Proxmox and end with a broken system. I don't think DRBD team is goning to check Proxmox dev mailing list / git repository to test each modification.
    Instead, when is Proxmox team that manages all the stuff, you do the test, you decide when integrate the next DRBD9 update, you have your own repository with patches or whatever needed to make thing work, so an update is almost safe.
     
  8. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,551
    Likes Received:
    405
    The DRBD team decided to maintain the integration packages for Proxmox VE. Therefore there is no plan to revert this against their decision.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. mmenaz

    mmenaz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think that the decision was made when you, correctly, removed DRBD9 support after they changed the license of a vital component of it.
    After that they reverted their decision and went back to a FOSS license again, but you did not re-included DRBD9.
    Since is FOSS, they can't forbid you to create/mantain the integration packages yourself (so initialy an user can choose among yours and theirs, and eventually they will drop the duplicated effort).
    In short, Proxmox team is of course much better when it comes to provide a realiable, up to date and well integrated solution for Proxmox + DRBD9 integration.
    So please "make a plan" to bring DRBD9 back to Proxmox soon, there are lots of small installations that could benefit a lot from it. Thanks
     
  10. martin

    martin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    360
    The DRBD team decided to go this way, there is no plan to change this. If you have issues or questions, please contact the maintainers.
     
  11. dendi

    dendi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    7
    The license change
    This vital component is drbdmanage if I remember well. Soon drbdmanage will be replaced by linstor, what do you think about it and its license?
     
  12. seventh

    seventh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    HI,

    I used to have the same issue until I changed some settings in lvm.conf.
    Add the two settings to lvm.conf from this link and everything will work smoothly, at least it did for me.
    https://docs.linbit.com/docs/users-guide-9.0/#s-config-lvm
     
  13. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    159
    And be sure, that you have loaded the brbd9 kernel module and not the drbd8 one.

    drbdmanage need the new kernelmodule but don't give an warning, if the wrong is loaded... Fail!! there must be an developer not realy awake.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice