No GUI and not showing up in network.

Nercules

Feb 18, 2023
Hello

Yesterday my Proxmox home server stopped working. I can no longer access my GUI or SSH in the server. I have a keyboard and screen connected to the physical server to troubleshoot, but I am very new to virtualization and have no idea what I am doing.

I have 1 SSD where proxmox is running, then I have 2 HDDs in mirror for fileserver and one ssd where I store all my VMs (all mounted as ZFS partitions). The goal is to keep all this data but fix the proxmox on the ssd.

Is it as simple as reinstalling a new proxmox iso on the ssd, and can proxmox find the VMs and ZFSs? I read something online where I need to backup some /etc/pve files, but this folder is empty for me.

I could also try to fix the problem instead of reinstalling proxmox, but if I want to do that, I need to fix the SSH problem first so I can show what the terminal prints. The homeserver is also not showing up in my network.

I looked at some other threads on this forum, and I saw that my pve-cluster is down. But I have no idea how to proceed now.

Please note that I am a dummy in this if you want to help me and explain things.

Hi,

first of: Can you ping the server? Did you have a power outage or similar which might have caused an abrupt shutdown?

And secondly, since you do have physical access to the server: Can you see what ip a (to see if the network configuration is sane) and systemctl status sshd pveproxy outputs?

You can also attach actual pictures of the screen with the output readable - that's a pretty common solution for such situations where you have no ssh access.

Reinstalling Proxmox as a whole is probably way overkill for this ..
I read something online where I need to backup some /etc/pve files, but this folder is empty for me.
.. although this sounds a bit concerning. This folder holds all the configuration for PVE, esp. VM/CT configs.