Mini HOWTO: Running Mac OS X 10.9 under Proxmox 3.3

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by 375gnu, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. oschterhas

    oschterhas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Makes no difference, I had already set ignore_msrs :(
     
  2. sigxcpu

    sigxcpu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    9
    Interesting. I've rebooted last night and forgot to set ignore_msrs. OS X was in a reboot loop. Right after kernel and extensions cache were loaded, it rebooted, so I remembered about the kvm param.
     
  3. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works!!

    I can't believe I had forgotten that command after all the times I read Gabriel Somlo's site!

    Yet, I have a problem with the network interface.

    I can only get network if I use that line in the args as stated earlier in this thread:

    With that, I got network in NAT mode. I downloaded the Virtio driver and installed it.

    I'm not able to get network when using a virtio interface or even e1000 in bridge mode.
     
    #43 jpbaril, Oct 20, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2015
  4. sigxcpu

    sigxcpu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do not use virtio with recent OS X releases. It doesn't work.
     
  5. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disappointing...

    Yet, is there a way to make e1000 driver be used in Bridge mode?
     
  6. sigxcpu

    sigxcpu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    9
    It works for me (config posted above).

    Code:
    net0: e1000-82545em=0A:D4:06:E6:0C:AD,bridge=vmbr0
    
    That is El Capitan (10.11) and Proxmox 4.0-50.
     
  7. oschterhas

    oschterhas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heureka! El Capitan is running in proxmox 4! :D

    But ignore_msrs seems to get reset with every reboot... Does anyone know, how to make it stick?
     
  8. sigxcpu

    sigxcpu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    9
    Code:
    echo "options kvm ignore_msrs=Y" >>/etc/modprobe.d/kvm.conf && update-initramfs -k all -u
     
  9. oschterhas

    oschterhas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot!
     
  10. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strange, that's what I first used and did not work. Now it does.

    Next problem to solve: Being able to passthrough USB devices. The commands I used (https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/USB_Devices_in_Virtual_Machines) and that worked on Windows are not working on OSX.

    (Ideally I would even want to find a way to passthrough a series of usb ports so that whatever is plugged in these specific ports is directly used by the OS X machine).
     
    #50 jpbaril, Oct 21, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  11. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    To clarify my previous post,

    Passing through one USB device on Windows works (except for USB audio DAC which makes noise). On OS X passing through one device does not do anything at all.

    By passing through a whole USB controller (https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Pci_passthrough) on Windows, everything works correctly. On OS X, trying the same thing makes the VM to not even boot (SeaBIOS screen appears and nothing else then happens).

    Is there not any way to pass USB devices to a Mac OS X vm ?
     
  12. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm kind of still struggling to pass through a USB controller in an ideal way.

    I say that because I did some kind of "progress", yet at the same time it involved major setbacks.

    I first tried using instructions from here: https://hakzsam.wordpress.com/2015/02/21/471/ by using the vfio-bind script at step 5 and then usb controller passing at step 7.

    I used the binding script and the "args" from the blog which worked but I lost Ethernet with that.

    Then I tried this in in my config

    Code:
    hostpci0: 00:14.0,driver=vfio
    
    and I got a working USB 3.0 controller in my VM.

    Now, when I start the vm from the command line, I always get this:

    Code:
    $ qm start 101
    unknown hostpci setting 'driver=vfio'
    unknown hostpci setting 'driver=vfio'
    unknown hostpci setting 'driver=vfio'
    Running as unit 101.scope.
    unknown hostpci setting 'driver=vfio'
    kvm: vfio: Cannot reset device 0000:00:14.0, no available reset mechanism.
    kvm: vfio: Cannot reset device 0000:00:14.0, no available reset mechanism.
    I also tried to pass another controller (00:1a.0) in my config without using the script ./vfio-bind.sh but it does not seem to work (I'm not sure). Anyway, one controller is enough.


    Now my problem.

    In my previous experiments, like I said in my previous post, I first thought passing USB controllers to OS X VM made the VM to not boot, but in reality it is that it makes the VM to "hang" for around 4 minutes before the OS X booting screen appears. It normally takes 5 seconds. Even after that the actual booting also takes a bit longer. In the end I get a working VM with USB devices but it's very annoying to wait that long.

    I'm sure something could be done to make it work normally.

    Any idea?

    Thanks
     
  13. jpbaril

    jpbaril New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. mar72kuss

    mar72kuss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I'm new with proxmox, I would like to know where I have to put Chameleon *Enoch* in proxmox. thanks brgds
     
  15. Peter21581

    Peter21581 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for sharing
     
  16. bleomycin

    bleomycin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm attempting this on Proxmox 4 as well with El Capitan and it's failing to boot. It gets about 1/4 the way booted and just hangs (weird graphical corruption too). Screenshots attached below. I'm using the boot file extracted from Enoch r2795 on a fresh install of El Capitan copied and converted to .raw (also tried qcow2) from vmware fusion. The proxmox host is running zfs. I'm not really sure what's going on, there's no console output to debug with.

    Code:
    cat /sys/module/kvm/parameters/ignore_msrs
    Y
    vm config:
    Code:
    args: -device ahci,id=ide -device isa-applesmc,osk="ourhardworkbythesewordsguardedpleasedontsteal(c)AppleComputerInc" -kernel /SSD480/images/103/boot -smbios type=2 -readconfig /usr/share/qemu-server/pve-q35.cfg -device usb-mouse,id=mouse,bus=ehci.0,port=2 -device usb-kbd,id=keyboard,bus=ehci.0,port=3 -machine q35
    bootdisk: ide0
    cores: 1
    cpu: core2duo
    #ide0: SSD480:103/vm-103-disk-1.qcow2,cache=writeback,size=100G
    ide0: SSD480:103/osx.raw,cache=writethrough,size=100G
    memory: 4000
    name: osx
    net0: e1000-82545em=32:65:65:65:33:33,bridge=vmbr1
    numa: 0
    ostype: other
    smbios1: uuid=7a1eddcf-92b6-42aa-9c62-f2d0f5d2ec22
    sockets: 1
    pveversion:
    Code:
    proxmox-ve: 4.0-16 (running kernel: 4.2.2-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 4.0-50 (running version: 4.0-50/d3a6b7e5)
    pve-kernel-4.2.2-1-pve: 4.2.2-16
    lvm2: 2.02.116-pve1
    corosync-pve: 2.3.5-1
    libqb0: 0.17.2-1
    pve-cluster: 4.0-23
    qemu-server: 4.0-31
    pve-firmware: 1.1-7
    libpve-common-perl: 4.0-32
    libpve-access-control: 4.0-9
    libpve-storage-perl: 4.0-27
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.5-1
    vncterm: 1.2-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.4-10
    pve-container: 1.0-10
    pve-firewall: 2.0-12
    pve-ha-manager: 1.0-10
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-1
    glusterfs-client: 3.5.2-2+deb8u1
    lxc-pve: 1.1.3-1
    lxcfs: 0.9-pve2
    cgmanager: 0.37-pve2
    criu: 1.6.0-1
    zfsutils: 0.6.5-pve4~jessie
     

    Attached Files:

    handleineed likes this.
  17. handleineed

    handleineed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same issues as bleomycin except I don't even get that far. No matter what I do, it always gets to this and reboots. I've tried using Gabriel's method and the methods posted here.
    Code:
    proxmox-ve: 4.1-26 (running kernel: 4.2.6-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 4.1-1 (running version: 4.1-1/2f9650d4)
    pve-kernel-4.2.6-1-pve: 4.2.6-26
    lvm2: 2.02.116-pve2
    corosync-pve: 2.3.5-2
    libqb0: 0.17.2-1
    pve-cluster: 4.0-29
    qemu-server: 4.0-41
    pve-firmware: 1.1-7
    libpve-common-perl: 4.0-41
    libpve-access-control: 4.0-10
    libpve-storage-perl: 4.0-38
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.5-2
    vncterm: 1.2-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.4-17
    pve-container: 1.0-32
    pve-firewall: 2.0-14
    pve-ha-manager: 1.0-14
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-1
    glusterfs-client: 3.5.2-2+deb8u1
    lxc-pve: 1.1.5-5
    lxcfs: 0.13-pve1
    cgmanager: 0.39-pve1
    criu: 1.6.0-1
    zfsutils: 0.6.5-pve6~jessie
    Anyone else experienced this?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. mar72kuss

    mar72kuss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have same issue about blue screen, you have to change the display of vm in hardware, edit display and choose SPICE. For what regarding booting, I have same problems. it loads up to 3/4 almost 70/80% then it stops. Don't know how to solve it. Maybe in vm conf I have not put the real OSK because I don't know how to find it.
     
  19. mar72kuss

    mar72kuss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello .. anyone has experienced my issue? el capitan start, it loads up to 80% than stops
     
  20. ttabbal

    ttabbal New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just started using Proxmox, but have experience with VirtualBox, Xen, and KVM in general. I have El Capitan installed to the first boot where the initial config program comes up. The config program crashes after setting network parameters. I haven't been able to find any similar posts, so I thought I'd try asking here. I haven't done any Passthrough, just the Spice console right now. The plan is to push a video card over, but I was trying to get the basics set up first.

    Got the setup assistant to work. I wasn't thinking and changed 2 things, booted to safe mode (-x at the boot prompt), then set the CPU setup to single core. It now boots OK in multi-core mode, but I haven't been able to get networking to function. The Network option in System Preferences is empty. Hitting the "+" to add one, crashes the app. So something is funny there still.

    I also got GPU passthrough to work, but only up to the bootloader. I can't seem to convince USB to work, so I can't do anything but look at the boot prompt right now.
     
    #60 ttabbal, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice