Mini computer to create home virtual lab?

FedericoCoppola

Jan 12, 2019
Hi all,
I am not an expert in this world, and I would ask you a little suggestion about the choose of right hardware platform to create a small virtual home lab to run some Virtual Machine. At the moment I do not think more than 4/5 VMs at the same moment. Typically 2/3 VM.

I have seen on-line that there are some mini PC very power full, such as MINI PC Intel NUC.
Another mini PC that I suppose could be interesting is this one GB-BRi5H-8250 (i could not post the link).

Or do you prefer other solution?

Thanks
Federico

Totally dependent on what the VMs need to do. Do the a lot of compute, may they need quite a bit of memory or could they do heavy IO?

For just for experimenting and such small VM counts you should be good with both suggestions you posted, though.

But, IMO, for the same price of a NUC you can also get a self build µATX setup, while a bit bigger you're much more flexible.

As an example:

Current NUC i5 (cpu: 4c/8t) generation costs at the time of writing about 360€, memory and disks not included.
Lets take a AMD Ryzen 5 2600 (6c/12t) (~ 160€), a good µATX mainboard with AM4 socket is in the range of 60 - 100 € (so lets say 80€), plus a µATX case, which with 50€ you get a good case with space for a few disks and at last you need a power supply (about 40€ and you get a good one (i.e., bequiet), for such purposes at least). So all together we're now at ~ 330€, without disks and memory (same as with NUC).

With the µATX you can expan easier, e.g., start with two memory sticks and you can add another two if you need more later on. Adding a few disks is also easier, as on the NUC you can have only one M.2 and one 2.5" sata.
Some disadvantages of this proposal could be:
* no wifi/bluetooth (normally not an issue for a homelab)
* it's a bit bigger (only an issue if you are very space restricted)
* you need to build more yourself (for some, like me, this can be even a feature ;) )