Local-lvm (storage) and VM format

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by kinetica, May 2, 2016.

  1. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am testing the new 4.2 Proxmox and I notice that in local-lvm is not possible to choose VM format.
    Does this means that from this version is not a choice to create VM's in local storage?
    I mean I have created a VM and I see I can not choose VM format, also I notice that the location of the VM created is in /dev/pve and the container is "vm-100-disk-1" without ".raw" or "qcow2" and there aren't the usual folders structure like: "dump" "images" "private" "template".
    How I have to read this main change?
    thank you
     
  2. wbumiller

    wbumiller Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    80
    It's just a different type of default storage now using thinly provisioned LVM, which means 'raw' access for qemu. You can still create a directory storage and use qcow2 like you're used to.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much for your clear and fast answer!
    Basically I have created a folder in /dev/pve/ and after in section Storage --> add "Directory"...... ok I see.
    I have created a 20Gbyte VM in the new Local storage, and everything go fine.
    Only one thing: I can see from the local storage just created, in the summary page a total size of 10.00 MiB
    Is this normal because is thin provisioned storage?
    thank you

    Just an update:
    I am trying to run the 20 Gbyte VM just created (linux Debian) but I am receiving this error:
    TASK ERROR: command '/bin/nc6 -l -p 5900 -w 10 -e '/usr/sbin/qm vncproxy 100 2>/dev/null'' failed: exit code 1
     
    #3 kinetica, May 2, 2016
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  4. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    326
    The 10 MB is from your /dev directory:

    Code:
    root@pve4-test ~ > LANG=C df -h /dev
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    udev             10M     0   10M   0% /dev
    
    Never create directories inside /dev.
     
  5. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. marcioducrato

    marcioducrato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    how to reduce lvm-Thin for root because I will not need all the space and lvm or need any more at the root site
     
  7. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    326
    Please post the output of lvs
     
  9. marcioducrato

    marcioducrato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    lvresize -l result thin pool volumes cannot be reduce in size yet.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    326
    root looks like a thick volume, doesn't it? (And please post text, not images). You have to resize your root before using lvresize or you'll break your installation (this requires live linux, because online reduction not supported)

    Backup plan if it is a thick volume should be:
    • Boot live linux
    • compress contents of root into data
    • remove data
    • recreate data with smaller size
    • copy data back
    • reboot
     
  11. marcioducrato

    marcioducrato New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry for the image above, I will try to resize using gparted
     
  12. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am here again,
    sorry for my poor Knowledge of LVM and filesystem but I think I am missing something with new Proxmox 4.2 and thin local-lvm:
    In my file system (df -k) I do not have:
    --- /dev/mapper/pve-data /var/lib/vz
     
  13. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,639
    Likes Received:
    326
    Yes, because it is not mounted - the o-flag is missing in your lvs output above. Therefore you need your root to store all non-vm-image data.
     
  14. kinetica

    kinetica New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you confuse me with user marcioducrato
    In my case there is flag "o"

    LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Meta% Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert

    data pve twi-aotz-- 582.52g 0.00 0.43
    root pve -wi-ao---- 96.00g
    swap pve -wi-ao---- 4.00g

    I just installed proxmox 4.2 and I am trying to understand where is located my VM but I can not find it in /var/lib/vz because in my filesystem I can not see /dev/mapper/pve-data -----> /var/lib/vz
     
  15. jhwireit

    jhwireit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here, pve-data is not getting mounted with a new install of 4.2. Gonna try a clean install with an older version...
     
  16. jhwireit

    jhwireit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    pve-data is correctly mounted when installing 4.1 but not with 4.2.
     
  17. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    494
    the default storage setup now uses a local dir storage and a local-lvm lvmthin pool instead of the (non-thin) lvm volume used previously.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. jhwireit

    jhwireit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then what happens with /dev/mapper/pve-data ?

    That's the largest volume and it does not get mounted anywhere.
     
  19. lacosta

    lacosta New Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    lv pve/data still exist, but is used as block storage, check "lvs" what returns ...
     
  20. jhwireit

    jhwireit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It shows it's there, but I didn't see where it was being used.

    fdisk -l didn't show it
    df -h would not show it.
    Only had the 16GB swap and 100GB root being used. Leaving me not able to utilize the 3.5TB data.

    I ended up doing a clean install with v4.1 then upgrading that to v4.2. pve-data was mounted under /var/lib/vz by v4.1 and is now usable in v4.2.

    I'm guessing that the issue is my lack of understanding on lvm thin? Would the VM and CT still use pve-data even though I don't see it as being mounted? I don't think that would work for my usage as I also run an NFS server along with Proxmox to provide NFS shares to some of my VM's and use most of the pve-data storage for that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice