initial iSCSI multipath questions

davidwk

Feb 8, 2023
I'm new to Proxmox and I'm setting up a demo cluster to figure everything out before building a production system. I'm trying to get iSCSI multipath working following the instructions here. Here's the contents of my storage.cfg file
Code:
dir: local
        path /var/lib/vz
        content vztmpl,iso,backup

lvmthin: local-lvm
        thinpool data
        vgname pve
        content rootdir,images

iscsi: arctic_5_206
        portal 192.168.254.206
        target iqn.2000-05.com.3pardata:***
        content none

iscsi: arctic_5_207
        portal 192.168.254.207
        content none

iscsi: arctic_5_208
        portal 192.168.254.208
        content none

iscsi: arctic_5_209
        portal 192.168.254.209
        content none

All four devices connect and multipath seems to be working
Code:
# multipath -ll
mpatha (***) dm-9 3PARdata,VV
size=4.0T features='1 queue_if_no_path' hwhandler='1 alua' wp=rw
`-+- policy='round-robin 0' prio=50 status=active
  |- 11:0:0:0 sdc 8:32 active ready running
  |- 12:0:0:0 sdd 8:48 active ready running
  |- 13:0:0:0 sde 8:64 active ready running
  `- 14:0:0:0 sdf 8:80 active ready running

My issue is that in the web interface it's showing up as 4 separate devices
Capture.PNG
When I create a VM, which one should I put it on? Because each storage device in that list is tied to a specific path wouldn't putting it on any one of them mean that if that path fails the VM would lose its storage? I'm coming from a VMWare environment where multipathed targets show up as a single storage device regardless of the path count.

You are not done with your setup yet. Once you have multipath, the next step, before creating and pointing a VM, is to create a storage object that uses that multipath device. You have few choices:
a) LVM (non-thin)
b) External Clustered File System
c) Pass through the entire LUN to VM