[SOLVED] How does the Proxmox Backup Server _actually_ work? | compared to other backups

Apr 19, 2022
Hello everyone,

I have been running a Proxmox Backup Server in test mode for a few months. It is already running very well and I have been able to restore entire machines, volumes or files without any problems.
Nevertheless, I still lack the basic understanding of how the Proxmox Backup Server works.

Or to put it another way:
Explain as if I were five - I know backup solutions with weekly full backups, daily incremental backups or daily differential backups.
+ Where are my full backups with the PBS? Are there any at all? At what interval are they created?
+ With the classic combination of full backups and incremental backups, a corrupt incremental backup destroys all subsequent backups. How does PBS deal with this? I have already seen that the backup server requires incredibly few HDD resources.

Overall, I am thrilled with what I have seen of the Proxmox Backup Server so far. However, in order to go productive with it with a clear conscience, I need more knowledge about how the server _actually_ works.

I am looking forward to your answers.

Reactions: Sasha
Or to put it another way:
Explain as if I were five - I know backup solutions with weekly full backups, daily incremental backups or daily differential backups.
+ Where are my full backups with the PBS? Are there any at all? At what interval are they created?
+ With the classic combination of full backups and incremental backups, a corrupt incremental backup destroys all subsequent backups. How does PBS deal with this? I have already seen that the backup server requires incredibly few HDD resources.