Home Lab Project

sanjibukai

Nov 10, 2016
Hello Everyone..

I'm going to start a really big thread !
I hope some cool guys will help me to achieve my home lab adventure ! ;)

I recently get a dell powerdge T110 II server :
  • Xeon E3-1220
  • 16 Gb RAM
  • 256 SSD
  • 2To HDD
  • Intel Gb NICs x2 (one integrated and one as PCI card)
But as picture is worth a thousand words..
Here the schema of the lab I want :

ds0g.png

The main purpose of this setup is to get myself learning all that infra stuff and be able to host at home all my needs (selfhosting rocks :p)

Originally I'm just an EE engineer but it turns out that I begin to do more IT stuffs (web dev)

I can divide my needs in 3 parts :
  • Server part where I will host several services
  • Data part where I want to centralize all my data
  • Network part where all my other devices will be connected at
Here are all the remarks about this setup (but I'm an absolutely noob so main parts are complete suppositions) and everyone is welcome to tell me what's wrong !

For the "Server" part :
  • I guess that the first point is to have a Firewall. I don't know the exact purpose but let's going on..
  • The purpose of the reverse proxy is to let me access to all my services with domains and subdomains and /or different domains from outisde since I have only one external IP.
    Eg. git.domain.com (for my git server), mail.domain.com (for my mail server), www.domain.com (for one website), www.anotherdomain.com (for a second web site) and so on..
  • I will hosts more than one websites.. And I imagine that depending on the needs I can scale my web servers for a specific website/app.
  • I imagine also to need some load baancing mecanisms. I know that I probably never get enough connections that will need load balancing but let me dreams !
  • I also want to separate the web servers from the DB servers.. And again I could imagine that each DB server will have its own machine (VM).