HDSIZE of NVMe system disk during PVE installation with ZFS

Garry

Jan 31, 2022
Hello All,

I have two NVMe M.2 SSD 256 Gb disks in my server and want to use them as a system mirrored disk.
To do mirror I want to try via ZFS RAID1.

I am a newbie in Linux and ZFS, so I doubt - what size of disk I should set while PVE installation?
I mean the PVE installation's stage "Hard disk options".
I can give PVE all 256Gb (entire disk) or less - for example, give PVE only 156 Gb and rest 100 Gb for smth further purpose.
What do you recommend?

Also I need advise for setting of advanced options
  1. ashift
  2. compress
  3. checksum
  4. copies
  5. hdsize (this is what i was asking at the beginning)

Hello All,

I have two NVMe M.2 SSD 256 Gb disks in my server and want to use them as a system mirrored disk.
To do mirror I want to try via ZFS RAID1.

I am a newbie in Linux and ZFS, so I doubt - what size of disk I should set while PVE installation?
I mean the PVE installation's stage "Hard disk options".
I can give PVE all 256Gb (entire disk) or less - for example, give PVE only 156 Gb and rest 100 Gb for smth further purpose.
What do you recommend?
Your pool will be thin provisioned and it can store VMs/LXCs and normal files. So I don't see a point not to use the full capacity.
Also I need advise for setting of advanced options
  1. ashift
  2. compress
  3. checksum
  4. copies
  5. hdsize (this is what i was asking at the beginning)
Defaults should be fine.

When using ZFS keep in mind that 20% of your pools capacity should be kept free or it will get slow. So if you use 250GB for your ZFS pool you shouldn't store more than 200GB of data on it.

So I don't see a point not to use the full capacity.
So what capacity of 256Gb disk I should use?

Defaults should be fine.

Defaults hdsize is the entire disk (as I remember).