Having multiple IPs per server

Businezz

Jan 6, 2023
Hey,

I’m new to proxmox, still learning. Finally i got a chance to mess with the GUI and learn about it.

But there’s something that I didn’t found yet. Currently when I deploy VM i am assigning IPs manually during the OS installation which is fine. Is there a way to have IPs automatically assigned on the VM during the installation?

Example: I have 10 usable IPv4, instead of adding them one by one on each VM, can i have them set automatically? So the VM can pick the first available random IP during the OS installation or however is possible.

I can’t find anything about it online, google, youtube, forums. Any help is appreciated!

TIA

You need to have a DHCP server on your network. There are lots of possibilities, depends on your use case.

Simplest setup would be to create a small lxc container and install isc-dhcp-server. If you're running windows server, you can add the DHCP role and do it that way. Quite often, the approach is to install a firewall/router appliance such as pfsense or opnsense and use them to provide DHCP & DNS

You need to have a DHCP server on your network. There are lots of possibilities, depends on your use case.

Simplest setup would be to create a small lxc container and install isc-dhcp-server. If you're running windows server, you can add the DHCP role and do it that way. Quite often, the approach is to install a firewall/router appliance such as pfsense or opnsense and use them to provide DHCP & DNS
Hi,

The server im using is on debian 11 if that makes any difference in my question and your answer…

Ty

Hey, it's been a while. I followed the steps and everything works! Thanks.

Question... If i get another range of IPs from my provider, should i add those the same way i did with the original IPs?

Just adding an additional line like with the new IPs will it work?

Code:
# specify network address and subnetmask
# specify the range of lease IP address