Error: error from PVE: "500 QEMU guest agent is not running"

csm310599

Jun 29, 2022
Hi everyone, I've several days trying to deploy a virtual machine and I'm stuck with this:
1. First I make a template by executing the following commands:

Code:
  qm create 9002 --memory 3072 --net0 virtio,bridge=vmbr1
  qm importdisk 9002 debian-11-generic-amd64-20210814-734.qcow2 R51_3-17
  qm set 9002 --scsihw virtio-scsi-pci --scsi0 R51_3-17:vm-9002-disk-0
  qm set 9002 --ide2 R51_3-17:cloudinit
  qm set 9002 --bot c --bootdisk scsi0
  qm set 9002 --boot c --bootdisk scsi0
  qm set 9002 --serial0 socket --vga serial0
  qm template 9002

(I don't know if is the best way because I'm brand new at this)

2. Then I'm trying to deploy a vritual machine with the new template using terraform
But always crashes with this error:

Code:
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m0s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m10s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m20s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m30s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m40s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [7m50s elapsed]
proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0]: Still creating... [8m0s elapsed]
╷
│ Error: error from PVE: "500 QEMU guest agent is not running"
│ , QEMU Agent is enabled in you configuration but non installed/not working on your vm
│
│   with proxmox_vm_qemu.test_VM[0],
│   on main.tf line 19, in resource "proxmox_vm_qemu" "test_VM":
│   19:   resource "proxmox_vm_qemu" "test_VM" {

Why? in the settings I have qmagent enabled https://imgur.com/a/mezDsmZ

I have doubts with qemu agent, does it have to be installed on the machine that is being deployed? or in proxmox server?
I have tried to do the same with packer and it fails with the same error.

I have seen that libguestfs-tools allows to insert qemu-guest-agent in the image, should I use this?

thanks