DigitalOcean proxmox network issue

Jake03x

May 8, 2021
I'm very new to proxmox, but was able to install it in my digitalocean droplet. I have been following different guides but keep getting stuck on this one part, that I can't figure out how to fix. On the guide it mentions to create a 'linux bridge' in order for the VM's to have internet access. So I go to create it and it's popping up these errors:

Parameter verification failed. (400) gateway: Default gateway already exists on interface 'eth0'.

I have bridge port set too: enp0s25
name of it as: vmbr0
IPv4/CIDR: Don't know what to put here
Gateway (IPv4): Don't know what to put here either

I tried different things like the servers main IP and that doesn't work. I know that the server has a Eth0 and Eth1 if that helps. So, I'm completely lost in what to do to get it to work. Not even sure if it's meant on a server like that or what's going on. I don't know much on setting up the network for it, and can't find examples of someone doing what I'm doing on a server like this.

It looks mostly setup besides the networking issues. Just seeing if someone can help me figure this out, cause I have no clue what to do next.

Maybe the section Proxmox VE server at hosting provider, with a single public IP address in the manual can give some hints? You probably need to setup Masquerading/NAT, instead of a simple bridge, because you have only a single IPv4 address.

Reactions: Jake03x
I'll take a look at it and read it through. I think yesterday I looked at it as well, but it was so much information....I was completely lost. I was reading today that someone was saying it wasn't possible to run it on Digital Ocean (The actual virtualization). Even if it isn't, I'll still need to know that as it seems crucial for everything to run. Thank you.