Configuration suggestion for Proxmox + CEPH

marcelovvm

Feb 20, 2020
Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Dear friends, I have a question on assembling a Proxmox + CEPH (I am a newbie in Proxmox... but a have experience in use VMWare) cluster with 7 servers. My servers are a bit old, HPE DL360 and DL380 both generation 7 with P410i RAID controller (SAS 6Gb/s) that does not allow passthrough mode, ie for CEPH I will have to configure each disk to be RAID 0 (or all disks in a large RAID 0 volume) for CEPH can create OSD.

My configuration question would be (I can only put four 2.5 inch disks per server):

configuration 1: 1 x 200GB SAS SSD HPE + 3 X 900GB 10K SAS HDD HPE on each server. So I will have 1.4TB cache (7 X 200GB) and 18.9TB capacity (7 X 900GB X 3);

configuration 2: 1 X Intel Server D3-S4510 240GB SSD + 3 X Intel Server D3-S4510 960GB SSD (SATA 3 - but powered on a SAS 6Gb/s controller that only supports SATA 3Gb/s). So I will have 1.6TB of cache (7 X 240GB) and 20.1TB of capacity (7 X 960GB X 3);

For configuration 1 would be all SAS 6Gb / s disks, but the capacity layer would be spinning disks.

For configuration 2 would be all SSD disks (SATA), but the interface would be 3Gb/s.

Which setting above (or other) do you suggest?

Live long and prosper,
Marcelo Magalhães
Rio de Janeiro - BR

Hi Alwin, I know the requirements to not to use RAID between CEPH FS and hard disk. But server RAID controllers do not allow HBA mode, and the servers no longer have a PCI slot to add an extra controller. So ... what's less worse ... a RAID 0 for each disk on each server or a RAID 0 with all disks on a single server?

Live long and prosper,
Marcelo Magalhães
Rio de Janeiro - BR

But server RAID controllers do not allow HBA mode

Yes they do. The raid controller (LSI) built directly into my supermicro motherboards support HBA and my physical LSI raid cards support HBA. You may need to flash the firmware but usually the raid card manufacture has that available on their website.