Cold Redundancy of a VM in a cluster of two nodes

francesco.pernice

Mar 27, 2023
Hello, I need help managing the redundancy of a VM.
At the moment I have 2 physical machines in Cluster MAIN and BACKUP (Proxmox 7.3)
both configured:
  • in RAID1 ZFS (directly from the ProxMox installation).
  • The two machines have two 1TB SSDs.
I know I can't have HA since I don't have 3 nodes but it's not a problem, I can wait before restarting the machine but it's important to have the data updated just before the service interruption.
As I said, my idea is to have 1 VM on main node that replicates every 5 minutes on the second one. Up to here I think I've arrived, in fact I can see the VM disk on the backup machine after replication.
My problem now is making sure that I can use this disk that is on the backup machine when the main physical node dies. Is there a "native" way of doing this without having to touch the system files too much? (I'm not a ZFS expert).

I tried to create a vm on the backup machine. Changing in the configuration file the disk with the replicated one, but it is not working.

Any advice/best practice?

I will bring new information in case of need

Thanks, I've already read this section of the guide a good number of times. Yet there is something I don't understand, the guide says to change the expected votes for Quorum (and simultaneously tells you not to do it unless absolutely necessary). I wouldn't want to change those variables also because I'm afraid that when the Main machine is brought back to life this discrepancy might cause problems.

# pvecm expected 1

This line scares me, am i over-reacting? When the main comes back what should i do to avoid cluster problems?
It looks to me like i need a more simple solution, just use the replicated disk to start a new VM.

Thank you