Best Disk set-up and shrink vm-disk

Ian S

Jul 2, 2017
I'm very new to Proxmox VE so I apologize if I'm asking something I should know. I have read a good amount on the forums and info pages.

I am trying to figure out two things.

The first is how to shrink the pve-vm--VM NUMBER--disk--1 that come off of pve-data-tpool. I transfered a few virtual box vmdks to the my pve system converting them to raw using the instructions I found on the forum (
qemu-img convert -p -f vmdk NAME.vmdk" -O raw /dev/mapper/pve-vm--101--disk-1.) They all have larger than I'd like virtual drives. Inside the operating system I've shrunk the drives and they show up as the right size, along with the extra space as unallocated space, i.e. in drive manager C:drive 60GB, 60GB unallocated space. Is there a way to shrink the drives in proxmox, so the unallocated space goes away?

The second question is related. I purchased a used dell server to create my home lab, hoping to set-up multiple servers and clients to hopefully learn a ton. As the server only has one small drive I am already running out of space with my VMs. I am now planning on adding a couple drives. Is there a best way to add them to the system. I am running proxmox 4.4 with the default LVM setup. If I add a drive or two is there a way to add it to the pool? Or would it better to add a big drive and migrate everything over to it and then, add back the small drive as a second volume. Is there a best way to add/manage drives/storage? I did read the storage and lvm pages and see there are many options but would I love a quick this is how you do it for now with a simple reason why if possible, and then hopefully as I learn I can come back to it and try to figure out more.

Thanks again for helping a newbie, and hopefully I learn enough to help others out in the future.