Adding new disk to server results in "failed to import pool 'rpool'"

keson

Dec 16, 2017
Dear Proxmox gurus,
I am here new. Spend several days trying to resolve my issue by looking through this forum, but not sure I saw similar situation, although the symptoms seem to be discusses a lot here. I would need to hear some hints as I am fairly new in this and need to solve a situation in production environment.

Installed Proxmox (latest version as of now) on HP GL380 several months ago and all works just so excellent. I have 4 HDDs for data and virtual machines and ONE SSD drive for ZIL logs and cache. The HDDs are in Mirror, the SSD is single. It gets 7% wear-out and I wanted to add second SSD disk for the LOGS and CACHE to make it a mirror for security.

The problem is following:

As soon as I insert the new disk in the server and I boot it up (as it can't be added on the fly) the Proxmox fails to load with an error we can see in many local posts:

Failed to import pool 'rpool'
Manually import the pool and exit

Now the question is HOW to properly add the new disk to a server to avoid such situation or better to ask, whether this is a default behaviour whenever a new disk is inserted to a server?

As soon as I remove the disk, I can start the server again.

As I am afraid to do any trial error experiment as it is a production environment and I have no other system to play with, I would like to ask how to proceed.

Basically my aim was to insert the new disk, then delete the current CACHE and LOGS, create a new mirror from disk SDC and SDF and again use it for CACHE and LOGS... Is that feasible?

This is my current configuration:

(see zpool status)

RPOOL
SDA2 + SDB2 = MIRROR-0
SDD + SDE = MIRROR-1
LOGS SDC1
CACHE SDC1

(see zpool list)

The new disk, when I add it would be SDF I expect.

I apologise for this novice question, but I rather want to make sure what I do before I drive to the location and do the new disk insertion and restart on the spot.

Happy xmas!