[SOLVED] Is Proxmox future-proof?

Razva

Renowned Member
Dec 3, 2013
Romania
cncted.com
Hey,

I'm studying the market right now in order to find solutions for a semi-public cloud. Here's the result of my small research:
- OpenVZ is a very good solution for most Linux hosts because the vast majority of Linux users don't really need custom kernels and "nuclear rockets". Users are mostly looking for a fast way to build/reinstall/test and - when necessary - expand. Thinking at the fact the iolimit was introduced in recent vzkernel...a lot of concerns are covered;
- KVM is the "new kid on the block" when it comes to Windows virtualization. I'm personally using XenServer, but a RedHat Powered solution sounds very interesting.

So in my mind the best solution is to offer OpenVZ + KVM. Exactly what Proxmox is doing! :cool:

But here comes the tricky question: is Proxmox safe?

I don't want to be disrespectful, but it looks like a "one-man show". I'm positive that the creator/maintainer has impressive technical skills and it has my greatest respect! But when it comes to implementing Proxmox company-wide, even as a startup, you have to be very careful what you choose on the long-run. Accidents are common nowadays (just think at yesterday's Paul Walker) so implementing a solution developed by a single person sounds like a high-risk deal.

Just think about HyperVM. They were once the best solution for controling OpenVZ containers, but now the project is mostly dead.

What's your opinion about this? Is Proxmox "safe"? Why?

Hey,

I'm studying the market right now in order to find solutions for a semi-public cloud. Here's the result of my small research: