HDD I/O errors after shutdown

donallw

Jun 18, 2022
Hello, huge noob here and looking for some help with my HDD. When trying to shutdown proxmox I got a kernel error:

kernel panic - not syncing attempted to kill init

When I tried to reboot into the same hdd, I got the following error:

kernel: blk_update_request: I/O error, dev sde

This kept repeating until eventually it booted from the installation media. I restarted again, this time directly into the installation media, and tried to reinstall proxmox on the drive. A similar error appeared:

unable to partition harddisk /dev/sdb

At this point I knew something was wrong with the HDD, so I plugged in an ssd with windows installed and opened up the disk manager. It detected both of the new hard drives, but when I tried to make them accessible through windows, I got another I/O error. This is where I currently am at.

Any thoughts as to why this might have happened / what could have caused this? Is the HDD dead? Any solutions?

Thanks in advance!

Some background:

I converted an old gaming rig to a home server and last night I installed proxmox on an old HDD I had laying around that had windows on it. I cloned the proxmox 7.2 VE installer onto a flash drive and booted into that, and followed the installation guide successfully. This morning I was able to navigate the proxmox web interface just fine.