Proxmox VE 6 - Removing cluster configuration

Jul 23, 2019
I am new to Proxmox VE, still reading the docs, so please forgive my easy question.

I need to completely remove the cluster configuration from one of my servers. There are no nodes attached, no VMs, no containers.

I simply created the cluster by mistake, and now I would like to know the correct way to accomplish this under PVE 6.

I have found a dozen tutorials on the matter, but they are all about PVE 5.x and earlier, I don't know if they all apply to PVE 6 as well.

Thanks in advance for any help you will offer.

I have one machine with several virtual machines and containers. I added a new machine to this in a cluster config. Now I want to remove the second machine again. The second machine has no VMs or containers. Does the above apply? Will my first machine survive?

This is a few years old at this point and if this counts as thread jacking let me know and I'll delete and start a new thread... it's just the same exact issue and I must have screwed up the fix somehow....

https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/pve-admin-guide.html#pvecm_separate_node_without_reinstall minus the last few steps.

Code:
systemctl stop pve-cluster corosync
pmxcfs -l
rm /etc/corosync/*
rm /etc/pve/corosync.conf
killall pmxcfs
systemctl start pve-cluster

should do the trick.
I had a cluster with three nodes that were put in a cluster before their IPs had to be changed- I ran these cmds on each node hoping to roll back to a clean slate on each but it doesnt look like it worked.

after reading the link I ran the following on the nodes:
(with <node to delete> run 2 times for each, 2 other nodes)

Code:
systemctl stop pve-cluster
systemctl stop corosync

pmxcfs -l

rm /etc/pve/corosync.conf
rm -r /etc/corosync/*

killall pmxcfs

systemctl start pve-cluster

pvecm delnode <node to delete>

# ^this^ failed which the doc states is expected... so I ran

pvecm expected 1

pvecm delnode <node2>