ZFS Questions - Moving from old school ext4 install

Stacker

May 6, 2020
I am new to ZFS. I’m old school and I feel like I'll take ext4, mdadm, and lvm-thin to the grave with me. But I like to learn new tricks. I'd like to make the switch but want to make sure I am not F'ing myself over. Ive done some searhing where possible but leaves me sometimes with more questions than answers.

Situation:

I have 2x - 1.9 TB NVMe drives in a brand new server that im trying to figure out best storage setup for. I plan on migrating off an old Proxmox 6 box. I have installed 7 to new to just play around with ZFS till comfortable.

Thoughts:

1) I have been using NVMe for long time at home they have not yet failed (or worn out) I checked the new drives and these drives are fairly new only few dozen TB written.

2) I could get away with NOT putting these into a mirror and just keep backups... My brain kicked back in and said I should probably make a partition large enough to store production VMs and then partition 200-500 GB on each stick for more like non critical VMs that if lost are no big deal. Sometimes I need a space to drop few 100 GB temporally etc.

3) I think I came to the conclusion that for safety purposes I should probably create at least a ~1TB Raid1 (mirror in zfs terms) and then maybe allocate the other empty each as single drives... That gives me almost another 1.8 TB of mess around storage. that I could even use to do some local backups (say sftp from a Hosting Pane, or game server storage) .. Of course, I also offsite the main backups but this be a quick local backup spot that if I lose it so well, I have the slow backup location.

Note: In terms of ZFS... I see VDEVs as Partitions which could be in 1 or more drives. ZFS Pools then combines vdevs as assigned

Currently: